Skimming

The son tells me that the eldest grandson, age eight, needs to pay more attention to his reading.  He is a skimmer.  This is something that doesn’t surprise me or his daddy, and it’s not all bad, but skimming surely does affect how the boy does on standardized tests.

Boy’s daddy and I decided to see if he (the grandson) would work puzzles with grandpa and me when we visit this weekend.  I must say that the grandson did NOT sound thrilled.  His daddy kept talking until he agreed to a 100 piece puzzle.  I am armed with a 100 piece (dinosaurs) and a 300 piece (Cars).   (Aren’t dollar stores nice?)

Especially in this electronic age, I seldom see kids reading for pleasure.  At what point, what age, do kids begin to get lost in books?  Is there any way to trigger it, or is a love of reading something that just clicks at some point?

0 Responses to “Skimming”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

