RJ and the Acquisition of Knowledge

So RJ, age 7, was lolling on the floor while he was at my house, and he looked up at me and said, “Grandma, do I know 30% of what there is to know?”

I am afraid that I sort of snorted here and said, “No, RJ.  I don’t know 30% of what there is to know.”

He thought about that for a while.    Then he said, “Well, do I know 29.9%?”

And I said, ‘Nope.”

Again, he thought.

The next question was, “How can I get to know 30% of what there is to know?”

This boy has been fighting reading for a while now.  We don’t know why, exactly.  It’s sort of a head-butting thing; he reads above grade level.  He just refuses to do it.

So I replied, “Well, I guess you’re going to have to read.”

He rolled around on the floor as he digested this.  He sighed.

Then he gave in.

“Well,” he said, “OK. But I’m not gonna do it until school starts.”

0 Responses to “RJ and the Acquisition of Knowledge”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

