Pondering My Memory vs. That of My Father, Age 85

So this summer has been one with NO down time for me until, like, right now, and although I should probably be at the Gideon convention with the hubby since I am a member of the Auxiliary, I am here at the motel in Phoenix taking advantage of having some time to myself.

We are taking this trip with my 85-year-old dad, and I will write more about that later.  One thing we talked about, though, is how to live your life so that others can see Jesus in you.  One thing I really admire about my dad is that he can quote Scripture  chapter and verse and is thus always read to give an answer to anyone who asks him why he believes what he does.  I know a lot of the Scripture but not always by the reference, which is much more frustrating and, I figure, probably makes me look stupid to people if I have to look it up to witness.   (Oddly, when I have been led to witness, though, Scripture comes out of my mouth with chapter and verse.  Go figure.  Or should I say, “Go Holy Spirit, and thank You?”)

Anyway, I was talking to my dad about this.  He was not raised Lutheran, and he can quote both of the catechisms he learned, the Westminister and the Lutheran.  He started quizzing me on the commandments and their meanings, something I had to learn to be confirmed and an adult member of the church, and I, um, …didn’t do as well as he would like.  When I asked him how he could remember so well, he said he was raised to revere Scripture.

So was I.  And so were my siblings.  Hmmmm….

The thing that got me started on this was our Wednesday night Bible teacher who often says, as we study John, or Romans, or…..  anyway, she says, “this goes back to your Catechism.”

Which I can’t always seem to remember.  And it gets to me.

So, for what it’s worth, here are the first two commandments with their meanings, taken from Luther’s Small Catechism:

First Commandment Thou shalt have no other gods before Me.
  What does this mean? We should fear, love, and trust in God above all things.
 
Second Commandment Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord, thy God, in vain.
  What does this mean? We should fear and love God that we may not curse, swear, use witchcraft, lie, or deceive by His name, but call upon it in every trouble, pray, praise, and give thanks.
 

Now I have to go because the motel is changing our room and since we are staying a lot of days, we have a LOT of things to move.  Hubby is at the convention.  It’s all up to me.  I’m not done pondering, though.  I’ll be back.

0 Responses to “Pondering My Memory vs. That of My Father, Age 85”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

