Books and Vacation

As I mentioned, I haven’t had a lot of down time this summer, so I am trying to catch up on my books.  Here’s what I have completed since Monday:

Julie and Julia by Julie Powell

The Postcard by Beverly Lewis

Here’s what I have to go:

Pilgrim’s Progress–I’m half-way through.  I was reading it to the hubby in the van.  I like it, but it’s not an easy read and is therefore not on my list for Glenn IV’s Christmas like it was.  He’d be relieved if he read my blog.

Understanding the Times by David Noebel.  It’s a weighty tome and one that I will need time with.  God has laid (lain?-I really need to learn that) a huge burden for young people on my heart this year, and I need to learn what threatens them.  Read Already Gone –you’ll see what I mean.

I want to finish The Fiery Cross by Diana Gabaldon, but the problem is that I read this aloud to the hubby and there are some romantic parts that, although appropriate scenes between a husband and a wife, I will not be reading with my father in the van.  Call me prudish.  People have before.

Then there’s The Discipline of Spiritual Discernment by Tim Challies, Homeport by Nora Roberts and Naked in Death by J.D. Robb (aka Nora Roberts). 

The convention lasts through Saturday.  We plan to be home August 1.  School starts August 10, but, Lord willing, we will be moving the daughter to accommodate her new job during that interim.  She had planned to visit the week of August 9.  Did I mention school starts August 10?  The daughter wants to can green beans, and I am supposed to go to WVA to make Grandma Nuzum’s green tomato relish with my cousins.

How much can I get done?????

0 Responses to “Books and Vacation”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

