On Women

Our pastor preached a sermon on women today.  He prefaced it with saying he was not trying to be a chauvinist and that he didn’t think he had a female side.

I listened.  Really I did.  But all I got from it was that women are such emotional creatures, and I’m not denying that, but don’t helpmates have to be strong in order to help?  And what about the Proverbs 31 woman?  She certainly got things done, emotions notwithstanding.

The man gave a disclaimer, so I guess I have to give him some credit.  And women are emotional. But that’s not all we are.

4 Responses to “On Women”


  1. 1 Ron June 13, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    So he talked about women. And he said they were emotional. I have to believe that there was another redeeming quality other than the disclaimer.

    • 2 Becky June 15, 2010 at 3:37 pm

      Nope, not as far as I could see. Your dad agreed; he just saw no real point to the whole thing unless the point was that women are emotional. And women are; I’m not denying that. I just think we have more positive qualities than that.

  2. 3 Carol J. Garvin June 22, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    I keep looking back at this post of yours and wondering why a pastor would choose to preach on this subject. I’d like to give him the benefit of the doubt… to think that there was a point that you missed… but it doesn’t sound like it. My DH had a little brass plaque made and stuck to his side of the pulpit that said, “We would see Jesus”. He wanted to be constantly reminded of his role as one of Christ’s shepherds to feed His sheep and proclaim the Good News of the Gospel. This just seems like it was a wasted opportunity. 😦

    • 4 Becky June 23, 2010 at 6:17 pm

      I keep thinking there must be a lesson in this for me, and I’m sure it wasn’t contained in the sermon. My pastor does a lot of things right. He is very evangelically minded. He has always handed women off to other women in the congregation who are more emotionally and spiritually grounded, and at least now I know why. I’m not sure that’s all I need to learn, but at least it proves that he knows his weaknesses. I agree with you that this was a wasted opportunity, though, and I sort of wonder why he even attempted it.


Leave a Reply

