Laundry Soap

A while ago, the hubby and I started making our own laundry soap.  At first, I think, we made it because it had Fels Naptha in it and was nostalgic, not so much for the savings.  In truth,  this soap works pretty well, but shredding the Fels can be a pain.  It doesn’t always shred to a powder, and it takes a lot of time.

We’ve been tempted to go back to buying Wisk, but then a teacher at school gave us a recipe for liquid laundry soap that does not involve cooking or shredding.  We ran out of the shredded soap today, and we have a gallon soap container from our son’s house, so I was all ready to make it and, wouldn’t you know, I didn’t have any Arm and Hammer Washing Soda.  A quick trip to Meijer fixed that, though.

Here’s the recipe:

Roll Your Own Laundry Soap

(Or as my father calls it, ”Ricky Bob” Soap)

¼ cup Arm and Hammer Washing Soda

¼ cup 20 Mule Team Borax

¼ cup Castile soap (Murphy’s Oil Soap or Doc Bronner’s soap)

In a one-gallon jug with a screw top, mix washing soda and borax with one quart of warm water.  Shake until powders dissolve.  Add lukewarm water to jug until almost full.  Add castile soap.  Shake well before each use.  Use ¼ to 1/3 cup for each load, ½ cup for really nasty clothes or an oversized load.  Reduce fabric softener by 2/3 if used at all.

We did spring for some of Doc Bronner’s soap, which raises the cost a little, but the hubby wasn’t too thrilled about smelling like Murphy’s Oil Soap even though the teacher who gave me the recipe swears there is no smell at all.

Anyway.  I’m hoping this works.  With the old soap, you do have to spot things a lot, and it may be that way with this, too.  It’s got to be easier, though, in the making.

As to why I do this instead of buy my own soap?  I’m not sure.  It’s emotionally satisfying.  I think I am saving.  And maybe I think I am touching some of my pioneer roots as well.

2 Responses to “Laundry Soap”


  1. 1 Ron June 13, 2010 at 7:53 am

    You will have to tell me how this works out for you. We usually go through that large bottle of laundry detergent every two to three weeks, which gets expensive. If it is not that much work, I would definitely consider using this as an alternative.


Leave a Reply

