Today is National Honesty Day

I just wanted to post a quick note before I am off to school.  National Honesty Day?  Who knew?  For those of us who didn’t, here’s the scoop:

M. Hirsh Goldberg founded National Honesty Day in the early 1990’s and established April 30th as the day in order to end the month “on a higher moral note” since we start the month with April Fool’s Day, a day of spoofs and lying.

Mr. Goldberg, former press secretary to a governor of Maryland, wanted to call for “a nationwide emphasis on honesty to prevent the increasing examples of lying and fraud that are harming society and damaging our nation’s quality of life.”

I don’t suppose we will celebrate National Honesty Day at school, although you never know.   That’s one of the reasons that I love my school.  The people who work there–all of them–are all about setting an example.  It wouldn’t hurt the rest of us to think about example-setting, either.

What will you do to celebrate National Honesty Day?  I try very hard not to lie, so I suppose my day will be much the same as it always is.  As a Christian, I know that God is truth (Deuteronomy 32:4)  and that He cannot lie (Numbers 23:19).  I think I will meditate on those Scripture passages and on these words, which ended my morning devotion:

People who trust God’s Word should be people whose word can be trusted.

Have a great National Honesty Day! (And I mean that.  Really.) 🙂

2 Responses to “Today is National Honesty Day”


  1. 1 carol connell May 4, 2010 at 1:32 am

    National Honesty Day? I had no idea. Wouldn’t it be great if it were a way of life for everyone?

  2. 2 Carol J. Garvin May 7, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Hmmm… I don’t think I’ve ever been aware of National Honesty Day, but certainly honesty is a good thing to celebrate.

    “People who trust God’s Word should be people whose word can be trusted.” This is a great quote, Becky. Thanks for the reminder.


Leave a Reply

