In Which I Eat Crayfish and Live

I am not an adventurous eater.  I like a lot of variety in the way my foods are prepared, but I eat the same things: beef, chicken, turkey, fish.  I have had things like sushi, per the daughter’s request. And tofurkey.   I ate oysters on the half shell because my brother-in-law dared me.  And…yuck…I have eaten pickled beef tongue, which only goes to prove that you should never, ever trust your brother when he says, “Close your eyes and taste this!”

Anyway…the hubby decided he was going to take me out to lunch over spring break.  He decided on New Orleans, which is fine with me.  I like to ride.  🙂  It took us two days to get there.  We were reading Dragonfly in Amber, so we took in a lot of scenery and did a lot of reading on the way.  The book has over 900 pages; we finished it somewhere in Mississippi.

When we arrived, we picked up a map of the French Quarter, and  it was on to lunch.  Last time we were in New Orleans, we ate Cajun.  This time we picked Creole cuisine, and we dined at Antoine’s.  The whole experience was awesome. The restaurant has fifteen dining rooms, which we toured, and I have to admit I pictured having a party or a reception there.  The hubby was impressed.  He’s a fan of Jeopardy!, and Alex Trebec has eaten at Antoine’s.

I went in thinking I would have gumbo, but once we were seated, we picked from the lunch specials; I was nervous, but I chose the fried crayfish salad and the Louisiana gulf speckled trout that came with…crayfish.  I normally avoid eating things that look like bugs but I thought, well, I came to New Orleans for Creole food, so…with our waiter’s encouragement, I took the leap.

The salad really wasn’t bad.  I guess you can fry almost anything and it will be edible.  And the trout was delicious, but I have to admit that I did not eat the crayfish that came with it.  Uncoated, they had a fishy flavor that I thought overpowered the trout.  The chocolate mousse  was delicious, and I ended my meal with some of the best coffee I have tasted in quite a while.  Its flavor was so rich that it had no need for cream or sugar.

There are a lot of places you can eat in the French Quarter of New Orleans, and I hope that the hubby and I go back to try more of them.  If you go to New Orleans, I would recommend stopping at Antoine’s. The dining experience….c’est magnifique!!  And you don’t have to eat the crayfish.  There are lots other things on the menu.

As for me, I am wondering where the hubby will take me to dine next.  The series of books we are reading are set in Scotland, and while I’d love to see places like Loch Ness, I’m not sure I am ready for haggis!

5 Responses to “In Which I Eat Crayfish and Live”


  1. 1 Carol J. Garvin March 26, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    You’re much more daring than I. Just looking at the crayfish would put me off the rest of the meal. And it doesn’t help to conceal the ingredients in something else. I want to know what I’m about to eat or I can’t get it past my lips. I’m sure my peculiarities ensure that I’ll miss some interesting eating experiences but I really have to find my food appealling before I’m willing to try eating it. But the trip to New Orleans would have been lovely.

  2. 2 Sally March 26, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    I admire your courage. I had meatloaf tonight; that’s as courageous as I get!

  3. 3 Carol Connell March 26, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    Hi Becky,

    You’re certainly more adventurous than me. Just knowing what sushi is I can’t bring myself to eat it. I would love to go to New Orleans sometime and see if anyone could understand my French. I took it all four years of highschool, but I really don’t use it much. Anyhow, glad to hear your dining experience was magnifique! I don’t think I could do the haggis either. LOL

  4. 4 Andy March 27, 2010 at 10:21 am

    Haggis is actually pretty good. It’s not that bad. Mind you i’ve had it a couple of times and it’s tasted different each time. The best is to get a real scot to cook it for you as they should hopefully know what they’re doing. If you don’t feel up to haggis just yet, try black pudding as a starter (or white pudding if you’re not even that adventurous)

    • 5 Becky March 27, 2010 at 10:50 am

      I’ll take your word on the haggis, Andy. I imagine that if I were in Scotland, and it smelled good, I could be convinced. As for the black pudding, I’m not sure. ( I looked up the ingredients.)


Leave a Reply

