Peanut Butter and Jelly

I am sitting in my Bible class, and the lady next to me says this:

A long time ago, the Lord was laying fasting on my heart.  I asked the pastor about it, and he said I should do it if I felt led.  At that time, the kids were in high school, and I was reading my Bible every day.  One day, when the kids left, I felt I should fast, and I did until the middle of the afternoon.  Then, the time came that I felt hungry, and I went and got a piece of bread.  The first one tasted so good, I got another.  And another.  The next time I went to the kitchen, I put peanut butter and jelly on my bread, and it was then when the Lord spoke to me.  He said, “This is how you are with Me.  You are into the blessings that I give you, and you forget that I am sufficient just by Myself. “

That stops us all from talking, and I can’t stop mulling it over.

How often have I forgotten that Jesus is all I need?

2 Responses to “Peanut Butter and Jelly”


  1. 1 Carol J. Garvin March 16, 2010 at 1:21 am

    This is a startling truth beautifully written, Becky! Thank you for a timely reminder.

  2. 2 Carol Connell March 19, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    Hi Becky,

    Sometimes the things God says to us are so startling and ring with truth in such a way that it’s almost like a slap in the face. This would be one of those times.


Leave a Reply

