I Am

E-Mom over at Chrysalis posted a writing challenge a few weeks ago, and I decided that I’m in.  She has a template of a poem that you can use to write your autobiography.  Here’s mine.  It was sort of fun to write once I got started.

I Am

I am from well-read books, from Barbies and Coke-bottle eyeglasses.

I am from screened-in porches and shady back yards with cool breezes.

I am from golden forsythia and the perfume of  lilies of the valley.

I am from trips to Florida and stubbornness, from Grandma Gump and Aunt Jeanette and, of course, my mom.

I am from deep spiritual yearnings and intellectual discussions.

From “books are your friends” and “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.”

I am from King James Bibles and family devotions.

I’m from New Jersey and the DAR, from h0memade jam and canned green beans

From singing show tunes with my older sister, from sleeping in bunk beds, and from trips to Bowman Pool with my little sister.

I am from the albums in my father’s back room closet, from the drawers in the buffet and the Nuzum Family History, from the picture of my dour great-great-great grandmother, parent of nineteen children.  I am from connections. I am from family.  I am from love.



5 Responses to “I Am”


  1. 1 e-Mom February 12, 2010 at 2:39 am

    Fabuloso! I thoroughly enjoyed your poem. Thanks for taking the time to write down your memories, Becky. I can imagine your life so well. You’re blessed.

    Have a wonderful weekend. Blessings,

    e-Mom @ Chrysalis

  2. 2 Carol February 16, 2010 at 12:31 am

    Interesting idea for a poem. I’m not quite up to it right now, but I may give it a try in the near future.

  3. 3 jennifer in OR February 16, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    I love the family picture – perfect addition to a poem of belonging. I’m also from books, and memories of my sisters.

  4. 4 Carol J. Garvin February 22, 2010 at 2:48 am

    This is wonderfully descriptive. As e-Mom has said, it allows me to imagine your life so well. Great word choices. 🙂


Leave a Reply

