Snow Day Biscuits

This is our second snow day of the week, the fourth of the season.  I am thankful that I work for a school district that builds snow days in!

My cousin says she is disciplined to do Pilates, free weights and the treadmill when she’s snowed in.  She lives in Maryland; she’s far more snowed in than we are.  She says, though, that the temptation to bake is there.

Well…I don’t have a treadmill, so I baked.  The hubby and I don’t keep crackers around, and yesterday we were having stew.  I thought biscuits sounded good, but there are only the two of us, and I couldn’t find a recipe I liked.   I put several recipes together, and here’s what I came up with.  It made 5 biscuits, a quarter cup of dough each.

Snow Day Biscuits

1/2 c. unbleached flour

1/2 c. whole wheat flour

1/4 c. cornmeal

1 t. baking soda

1/4 t. salt

1/4 c. cold butter

2/3 c. buttermilk

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 c. cheddar cheese

Topping

1/4 t. dried parsley flakes

1/2 t. garlic powder

I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Spray

Combine dry ingredients in small bowl.  Cut butter in until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Stir in buttermilk, garlic  and cheese until just moistened.

Drop by 1/4 cupfuls on greased cookie sheet or cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Sprinkle tops of biscuits with mixture of parsley and garlic powder.

Bake at 375 for 15 minutes or until browned.  When you pull the biscuits, spray the top with butter spray.

** I never have buttermilk around, so I make my own by adding a tablespoon of lemon juice to just under a cup of milk.

2 Responses to “Snow Day Biscuits”


  1. 1 friendlyfuneralista February 10, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    These biscuits look great! I think they would be a great addition to my chili recipe. Hope you will check out my site too!

  2. 2 Carol J. Garvin February 11, 2010 at 12:40 am

    I have a recipe from a friend of my mother’s called “Cloud Biscuits”. I always wondered about the weather-related name although, granted, they usually turn out fluffy as a cloud. Baking is a great way to help pass a less than stellar day even if it is more fattening than exercise.

    I’ve copied out your recipe. Snow is in the forecast for later this week so I may just have to try it out then. 🙂


Leave a Reply

