All in the Plan

A few weeks ago, I got shanghaied into this Bible study, Beth Moore’s A Woman’s Heart, God’s Dwelling Place,  at church.  This came as a surprise to me, actually.  I usually don’t go to Sunday School without the hubby, and we hadn’t been comfortable with our old class for a while so we, um…hadn’t been going.    Maybe God wants us to grow apart from each other for a while?

When I got into the study, I found out that what is meant to be a ten week study was going to take a year.  Hmmm…  That was slo00000w.  Not the pace I have taken it in the other Beth Moore studies I have done.  But I have done those on my own.  Convinced that I am exactly where God wants me to be at this moment in my life, I decided to go with it.  I can take it slow, right?  Except…I am hungry, and slow is hard for me.

Today, in the lesson we were reading. one of the leaders had a problem with this passage:

According to Revelation 13:8, Christ is the “Lamb slain from the foundation of the world (KJV).  God’s breathing a soul into Adam signed His precious Son’s death certificate.  The moment the decision was made to create humankind, Christ was, in simple terms, as good as dead.  We had to have a Redeemer.  Although God grieved over people’s sin, He was not surprised.  The plan was intact prior to the people, and no one could thwart that plan!

This lady was wondering why God would have created us knowing that Son would have to die, and we had an interesting discussion about this, really.  Maybe God just wanted people to pick Him, wanted relationship?  Maybe  He wanted to see how we, His children, would grow?   And (although I know little about this, so don’t ask me questions), it seems that His relationship with humankind is different from His relationship with angels, so humanity must add something to creation since angels came before.  I don’t know!

We talked briefly about how much time might have elapsed before Adam and Eve sinned.  We talked about whether there was linear time before Adam and Eve sinned.  ( I don’t think there was.  I think that, before the fall, Adam and Eve were with God like we will be in heaven.  That Eden just was.)  The general consensus was that God knew what He was doing even though it doesn’t make sense to us, as if that were anything unusual, and besides, Scripture does, in Rev. 13:8,  back up Beth Moore’s point:

All inhabitants of the earth will worship the beast—all whose names have not been written in the book of life belonging to the Lamb that was slain from the creation of the world.

I walked away amazed at God’s plan.  See, what I heard today was exactly what I needed to hear, that being that God will bring about what He has planned regardless of how we humans try to intervene in the meantime.  This is something I have been wrestling with in my personal life where there are so many things about which I am helpless, things which can be covered only by prayer.  And I was amused because I had gone ahead and filled out the lesson from the video ahead of time, but on this particular day, I somehow missed a page, and the page included words that I needed to hear today.

So.  Here I sit.  In this Bible study.  For a year.  And while I have toyed with the idea of buying the audio CDs and going ahead on my own, … maybe I won’t.  Maybe this is something that God wants me to take slowly.  Maybe that’s why I was shanghaied in the first place.

I’m going to go with it.  I bet He has a plan.

This post is a part of Spiritual Sundays.  To read more posts, click here.




7 Responses to “All in the Plan”


  1. 2 Whidbeywoman February 7, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Yes. God does have a plan. Keep open to the work of the Spirit!
    You go, girl 🙂

  2. 3 Charlotte February 7, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    I love this post. Many times we get side tracked and run on ahead of where God wants us to be or linger behind when he wants us to move on. I’m glad you shared your experience with us. I have heard so many good things about Beth Moore and her classes. I hope you continue to be blessed by learning in this way.
    Have a wonderful week.
    Charlotte

  3. 4 Dayle February 8, 2010 at 12:39 am

    His plan is always best.

  4. 5 Karyl February 8, 2010 at 12:53 am

    I too was drawn to take a Beth Moore study and wanted to go it on my own like you shared. You will be glad you went at a slower pace as it has you think deeper and reach inside for the answers you find so hard to come by on your own. And the group discussions get you to thinking outside your box so to speak. God Bless You and Enjoy the Study!!! You will be glad you did.

    Blessings
    Karyl

  5. 6 Ginger February 8, 2010 at 8:25 am

    I love bible studies like this when there is open conversation. I get more from that than just one person reading or talking. This is good, thank-you for sharing it today.
    God Bless,
    Ginger

  6. 7 sarah February 14, 2010 at 8:28 am

    And His plans are the best.


Leave a Reply

