Love Dare Challenge, Day 3

As I wrote about on Sunday, my church is offering a Love Dare Challenge, based on the movie Fireproof.  They had two showings of the movie on Tuesday.  Hubby and I went to the second one, and there were only a couple of couples there who were under forty.  We watched the movie together and then the men split off.  Then we received our own, gender-specific (sometimes) Love Dare sheets.

I wonder how this will work, especially since the hubbies know the wives are doing it and vice versa.  I also wonder how it will work with marriages of some longevity.  The idea, though, is to make your marriage something special, and I don’t think you can pick a time in marriage when that isn’t important.  We women thought that we would have to be creative so that our husbands would notice we were doing something different.

Day 1 was pretty easy.  We were not to say anything negative to our spouses.  We try not to do that anyway.

On Day 2, we were to go out of our way and do something special for our spouse.  Hmmm….  Since the hubby retired, he has been making my lunch like I did for him for so many years.  So yesterday, I made my own so he didn’t have to get up.    I don’t know for sure what the hubby did, but I had written on my task list that I needed to get the guest bedroom ready for the daughter next weekend.  When I came home from school, that was done and the task was checked off.

Today, you are to buy your spouse something that says you are thinking of them.  I have to admit that I peeked ahead on this one.  But what to buy?  The hubby likes anything cherry, so I bought cherry M&Ms and put them on his computer (he’s been working on his AARP tax course).

The whole thing is supposed to culminate on Valentine’s Day with those couples who want to restating their wedding vows.  The hubby and I haven’t decided about that, yet.  He says he needs more details.  And me?   I don’t know that the taking of the vows is necessary, but I am thinking that this Valentine’s Day, if I follow through, the hubby will feel very special.

That’s the best outcome anyway, isn’t it?  🙂

1 Response to “Love Dare Challenge, Day 3”


  1. 1 Carol January 11, 2010 at 12:53 am

    I’m just wondering what the something special is you have planned for Valentine’s Day. I guess I’ll have to wait to find out. 🙂


Leave a Reply

