Good Memories

My sister and I were talking yesterday about things that stimulated our memories.  We had a claw-foot tub in our bathroom at home until 1965, when the bathroom was remodeled.  She asked me how old she was.  She was three, and it surprised her that her memories of that tub could be so vivid.

Maybe that’s what got me thinking.   The hubby and I were taking a tour of fall colors yesterday afternoon, and we were about to go by an Amish shop that sells cheese.  All of a sudden, I could almost see my father’s hands cutting Colby cheese from one of those wax rounds (you won’t know what I mean if you’re not old enough).  It just brought back such pleasant memories of something small that the Pater and I shared.  The shop was closed, but today, I splurged and spent$4.99 on a waxed round of Colby cheese, which I have not had in probably thirty years.  It tasted goooood!

Today was also good because I got to go to the park, enjoy the fall colors again, and kick through leaves that came above my shoes.  I will not enjoy the leaves so much when they create a carpet on my lawn, but the memory of kicking through the leaves as a child is still a pleasant one for me.leaves at park

Finally, I can’t leave without sharing some memories that my father and the youngest grandchild made last weekend.  Tony won’t be five until December, but he played (with help, of course) a whole game of chess with my 84-year-old father last weekend.  I was amazed at the patience that both of them showed, and I decided to take a picture.  For the first one, I caught Tony by surprise.

100_1186

For the second, Tony decided to mug for the camera.  That’s him saying,”Chess,” not “Cheese.”

100_1187

Good memories just make life sweeter, don’t you think?  Thanks for letting me share mine with you.

3 Responses to “Good Memories”


  1. 1 Jessica October 18, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    Yes, they certainly do. Especially when something just hits you – like that cheese – and it feels like you’ve gone back in time.

  2. 2 writeathome October 20, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    Hi Becky,

    It’s funny how things can trigger our memories, especially smells. As I was dragging our garbage can back up after it had been emptied, it smelled pretty bad after sitting out on the curb in the sun for a while. The smell brought back memories of visiting the elephant’s quarters at Brookfield Zoo as a kid, because that’s exactly how the garbage can smelled. I know that’s kind of gross,but it illustrates the point. Anyway, I enjoyed reading about the memories you shared too, and yes, I’m old enough to remember those waxed rounds of Colby!

    • 3 Becky October 21, 2009 at 5:35 am

      I had read that about smells and memories, so I’m glad you illustrated the point. I’m sure that’s one of the reasons we are all so nostalgic about food during the holidays. The smells associated with them only happened at certain times of the year.


Leave a Reply

