Shocking News

I received it from the son and his oldest son both this weekend–I’m old.  The grandson based his assessment on my slowly-gray(ing) hair and, I think, the fact that I no longer have children at home like his other grandma, who is four months younger than I am and dyes her hair.  The son based his on my having lived through the 1968 swine flu outbreak.

It’s not that I don’t know how old I am, you understand.   It’s that I don’t think of myself as old (although I do occasionally wonder where the years have gone.)   Hence the shock.

I don’t want to miss anything in the years I have left, so I am just going to embrace this little bit of shocking news and move on.  It’s just that when I look in the mirror (most of the time, anyway), the face that looks back at me doesn’t seem old…

Gray hair is a crown of splendor; it is attained by a righteous life.

–Proverbs 16:31

2 Responses to “Shocking News”


  1. 1 writeathome October 14, 2009 at 1:34 am

    Hi Becky,

    I’m old too, or at least that is what my kids tell me. I’m getting more gray hairs, but they still blend in pretty good with my dark brown ones. We can’t stop the aging process, so we might as well enjoy the journey.

  2. 2 Becky October 14, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Amen! How’s the job going, Carol?


Leave a Reply

