Why I Shouldn’t Go to the Bookstore with My Credit Card

I went to the local bookstore on the weekend so that I could get the newest book by Diana Gabaldon.  I knew it would be a good read-aloud for the hubby and me.  This is what I came home with:

an echo in the bone

culture of corruption

my life in france

(Julia Child was a tall woman, and so am I.  I know that’s a dumb reason to read a book, but in my own defense, I offer that I really enjoyed the movie Julie and Julia, so that’s not my only reason for reading it.  Maybe.)

And then there’s:

stories behind men of faith

These purchases do not take into account the reading that I need to do for school or this bookgreen-250

that I just got in the mail that I need to read and review.  I bought a book light too.  I read to the hubby in the van when we travel, and I thought that would be less distracting than the dome light, which he will turn on if we are at a particularly good part of a book and it gets dark.

Even though I had coupons and deals, the whole purchase was, well, a splurge.  So I skipped Bath and Body Works.  And the hubby wasn’ t mad.  We’re already reading An Echo in the Bone.

But I don’t think I am going back to the bookstore any time soon.  At least not with my credit card.

4 Responses to “Why I Shouldn’t Go to the Bookstore with My Credit Card”


  1. 1 Ron September 29, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    Can I borrow the Malkin book when you come out? 🙂

  2. 3 writeathome October 4, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Hi Becky,

    I hope you enjoy all the reading. Lately, I’ve been to busy to read anything other than the Bible.

    • 4 Becky October 5, 2009 at 5:26 am

      School has become busier than I ever thought possible. My goal is to read all this by the time my Christmas vacation is over.

      How is your new job going?


Leave a Reply

