Mm Mm Good

I used to can a lot when we lived in Ohio and this year, partly due to the economy, the hubby and I decided to “put up” some vegetables like we had in the past.  It was a work week for me when we got the tomatoes, so the hubby took on the canning of tomato basil soup.  His mom canned too; it’s a return to your roots sort of thing.

We had a couple of jars that didn’t seal so, of course, we had tomato soup for dinner.  With grilled cheese, just like we had it when we were kids.   The hubby doesn’t condescend to eat tomato soup very often, but on this particular occasion, he did.  And he dipped his grilled cheese in his soup just like I used to do when I was a kid! We’ve been married thirty-one years.  Who knew?

tomato soup

The grilled cheese thing came up at school and led to a discussion of other comfort foods, one of which was Banquet Pot Pies.  I think those used to sell 4/$1 when I  was a little girl , and I remember thinking they were quite a treat.  Maybe that was because they didn’t leave a lot of dishes?  🙂  I’m not sure.

Another time we didn’t have dishes was when we got Chicken Delight, which I liked because they delivered.  I can still remember how excited I got when the car with the chicken on top made its delivery.  What I can’t figure out is why my very frugal mother would have paid the price, but maybe she, too, wanted a break from the cooking thing…  Anyway, to this day, the smell of fried chicken makes me want a leg.  Or two.  Depends on the coating.

When the hubby and I were growing up, people just didn’t eat out a lot, so anything that was prepared away from home was a treat.  There are special memories of food for us at holidays, too, but it makes me smile that the simplest one is that of tomato soup and grilled cheese.  The soup was mm mm good, and so are the memories

2 Responses to “Mm Mm Good”


  1. 1 Carol September 21, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Hi Becky,

    Tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches are some favorite comfort foods from my childhood too. I remember Banquet pot pies too and TV dinners. I liked these as a kid, but now, I think they’re kind of disgusting, and I know my husband would be disgusted if I tried serving that for dinner. LOL I remember having a lot of canned and frozen foods as a kid. My folks were divorced when I was 7. My mom ended up needing to go back to work, so she really didn’t have much time to cook. I enjoy cooking, but sometimes I do get tired of it too. Sometimes you just got to break down and have Taco Bell or In and Out Burgers. 🙂

    • 2 Becky September 22, 2009 at 5:31 am

      I hear you about serving pot pies now! I think my husband would feel the same way. And I agree about getting tired of cooking. Maybe that’s why my mom got us Chicken Delight every now and then.

      Hope your job is going well. Have a good rest of the week!


Leave a Reply

