No Doubts

You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.–John 14:14

In my Wednesday Bible study, we are studying the book of John.   Last night, we were in John 14, and because of the verse above, we looked up references about God’s being trustworthy.  Here are some of them:

Those who know your name will trust in you,
for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.–Psalm 9:10

Some trust in chariots and some in horses,
but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.– Psalm  20:7

Here’s the story I’ll tell my friends when they come to worship,
and punctuate it with Hallelujahs:
Shout Hallelujah, you God-worshipers;
give glory, you sons of Jacob;
adore him, you daughters of Israel.
He has never let you down,
never looked the other way
when you were being kicked around.
He has never wandered off to do his own thing;
he has been right there, listening.
–Psalm 22-24 (The Message)

Our challenge question asked us to share a time when God answered our prayers.  Listen to what was shared.  One man shared how, after a Bible study, a young couple asked him and a couple of other guys to pray for their 2-year-old, who had a club foot that was resisting treatment.  We go to a Lutheran church, so he had to stick in that some of the men being asked to pray spoke in tongues because, well, that’s not a mainline Lutheran belief (I know it’s in the Bible, and I believe in it.  If you want more details about Lutheran belief, comment and I will e-mail you.)  ANYWAY…these men prayed for this precious little one and watched as her club foot straightened before their eyes.  The doctors just couldn’t explain it.  Go figure.

This man’s wife told a story, too.  She read about Francis Hunter praying for a church, and she thought the prayer was a dumb one, so she figured if God was into answering dumb prayers, he’d answer hers, too.  Hunter was praying with the people of a small church whose well was blocked, and what they thought had happened was that a rock was caught in part of the machinery  so that it could not deliver.  This small congregation didn’t have the money to fix the well, so they decided to pray.  Hunter led them.  She asked them to join her in a circle, but what she said next has haunted me since last night.  What she said was, “Only join me if you really believe.  If you have any doubt, any at all, I don’t want you in my circle.”

Hmm…  I am sure the reason this story has been bumping around in my brain is because, sometimes anyway, I DO doubt.  I pray again and again for healing or for some change in the lives of those I love, and when the changes are slow in coming, I …. doubt.  At least a little bit.  I can’t even have the faith of a mustard seed, and then I get surprised and frustrated when my prayers aren’t answered.

If I truly believed, all the time, that I could ask for anything in Jesus’ name and I would get it, would I doubt at all?

I realize that I am not alone in my doubts, that all believers have them, but I don’t want to be one of those people who are outside of the circle.  I want to show my faith, to feel it, so that Jesus Himself has no doubt that I believe He is an Answerer of prayer.  All the time.  And that He listens.  Always.

You are probably wondering what happened to the rock in the well machinery of that poor congregation, the one who couldn’t afford repairs.  Well, the rock fell out and the well worked.  Some people said the rock would have worked its way out of the machinery in a while anyway.  But the people in the circle, the ones who prayed?  They knew what happened. I do, too.  God answers even dumb prayers.  In fact, I think He must have a special delight when we come to Him about the little things.

I hope I remember the story about the well  the next time I wonder why some of my prayers have not been answered.  If I do, maybe I’ll see, in my mind’s eye, a circle, one with Jesus saying, “Well…are you in, or are you out?”

I want to be in.

This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.–I John 5:14

1 Response to “No Doubts”


  1. 1 melissa September 3, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    thanks for sharing that! it was very timely. with all my heart i agree and want to be in too :o)


Leave a Reply

