Did You Ever Read 1984?

I read 1984 in 1969 or so.  I was a teen, and even fifteen years away was another lifetime for me.  Surely the things listed in the book couldn’t happen.  For instance, would the government ever ask families and neighbors to inform on one another?  Certainly not.  Not here in the good old USA!

It may just be my mindset since the hubby and I are reading Atlas Shrugged, which also has some uncanny resemblance to the state of things in our country, but I found this White House blog entry, authored by Macon Phillips,  close enough to the events in 1984 to make me uncomfortable.  Here’s the part that really sets me off:

There is a lot of disinformation about health insurance reform out there, spanning from control of personal finances to end of life care.  These rumors often travel just below the surface via chain emails or through casual conversation.  Since we can’t keep track of all of them here at the White House, we’re asking for your help. If you get an email or see something on the web about health insurance reform that seems fishy, send it to flag@whitehouse.gov.

Fishy?  To whom?  Aren’t the people of the United States allowed to talk freely about the ideas their legislators put forth?  Isn’t it normal for people to see loopholes in legislative documents?  It seems as though our legislators do.

I realize that the purpose of the blog entry by Mr. Phillips is to gather information so that the government can “set the record straight.”  We do, at the moment, live in a country where people may openly defend what they say, so in that respect, his request is right and proper.  But to ask people to send things that they deem “fishy” straight to the government?  I’m just not sure about that.  Does the White House (or, at least, Mr. Phillips) wish to rewrite the opinions of the people in Newspeak?

I’m just asking.  Then again, if Big Brother is watching us, maybe you don’t want to answer.






3 Responses to “Did You Ever Read 1984?”


  1. 1 Absoblogginlutely August 7, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    I’ll let you know what I hear back from the government after reporting this fishy blog post to them 😉

  2. 2 melissa August 7, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    atlas shrugged, fountainhead and anthem are all great books… 1984 too. you have good taste in literature :o) however i also think this is a bunch of crap

  3. 3 the nephew August 7, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    I read 1984, and I also see the similarities in our current government’s dealings. It’s very encouraging to hear time and again from you, and to know that I;m not the only one who feels this way!


Leave a Reply

