Another Icon of My Youth Bites the Dust

A while ago, they rebuilt my high school, Roy C. Start, and got rid of my favorite childhood hangout, Bowman Pool.

RJ Sr., RJ Jr. and RJ III at Southwyck Mall

RJ Sr., RJ Jr. and RJ III at Southwyck Mall

This time it’s Southwyck Mall.  The mall has been vacant for two years, but it had stores–and people–as recently as six years ago when RJ was a baby.

Me, the Daughter and the Daughter-in-Law at Southwyck Mall

Me, the Daughter and the Daughter-in-Law at Southwyck Mall

I’m sort of sad about the demise of malls.  There was something nice about parking your car and going from store to store without going out in the weather.  The mall in my little town was recently revamped and, although it no longer houses a movie theater like it did when we moved here and some of the stores are vacant, it adds a personality, I think, to the community.  Walkers meet there, although with the new ownership they can’t walk until the mall opens at ten.  There’s a soft play place for parents to bring small children.  There’s a snack bar that has been increasing its offerings.  The local Sweet Adelaides sings there at Christmas.  You can still see Santa and the Easter Bunny.

I guess you have to bow to the signs of progress.  I don’t think Toledo needs anymore strip malls, though, and I will be interested to see what happens with the 58-acre property that was Southwyck Mall.

2 Responses to “Another Icon of My Youth Bites the Dust”


  1. 1 schnuth October 17, 2009 at 12:39 am

    It’s so weird driving past Southwyck now that everything has been torn down. I really hope they do something good with the site.


Leave a Reply

