Summer and Time

I always look forward to summer vacation.  I have cleaning and weeding projects planned.  There are books to read.  There is family to visit.

Alas!  There are only eleven short weeks.  How will I get it all done?

I am one of those people that moves at my own pace.  I like to do one thing and get it done before I move on to the next.  My husband, on the other hand, likes to have a lot of irons in the fire.  He did not realize how much I moved at my own pace until he retired.  Then he saw that there’s a reason I get up at 5 on schooldays.  There’s the shower to take.  And the Bible to read.  And the coffee to drink.  And the news to read.  Sometimes there are chores, and I get carried away with them before I get ready, which may be why I end up rushing out the door more often than not.

I was thinking about this recently because, once again, I don’t see that there’s enough time in eleven weeks to get everything done I want to do and go with the hubby to do what he wants to do and go to Ohio to help and or visit family and read and…  So I was thinking of a schedule.  The hubby and I have begun using the calendar and task list on my Outlook.  We find it helps to record things when both of us remember them, and it gives us a central place to look for.  A schedule’s not too far off from that, right?

This morning, as I was going through my morning routine which also includes Google Reader, I saw this post on making the most of summertime with, you guessed it–a schedule!  In her post, Michelle advises her readers:

to make the most of every opportunity in the season you are in right now. Ask the Lord, and your husband, what it is important for your family and the season you are in right now. It is going to look different for each of us. Prayerfully make a list of your priorities. Remember that “where there is no vision, the people cast off restraint.”

So…I asked the hubby.  He has his Habitat things to do and, like I said, is painting the kitchen before he installs the laminate flooring.  He’s always bustling.  And he said–I can feel the smile on my face as I tell you this–that reading books and quiet time and doing things my own way are part of who I am, and he’s OK with that.

WELL!  🙂 🙂 🙂

Nevertheless, I am going to make a loose sort of schedule.  Sleeping in, for us, is sleeping until seven.  I can spend less time on the computer if I want to read more.  I can play fewer on-line games (but that’s a subject for another post.)  I still may not get everything done that’s on my schedule, but if I at least try to, as Michelle puts it, redeem my time, I’ll have something to show for these eleven weeks of summer.  I want to live purposefully and make the most of the off-work time the Lord has given me.  When I get to heaven, I doubt that the weeding I have done will matter as much as the time I spent with family and friends.

Look carefully then how you walk! Live purposefully and worthily and accurately, not as the unwise and witless, but as wise (sensible, intelligent people),

Making the very most of the time [buying up each opportunity], because the days are evil.

Therefore do not be vague and thoughtless and foolish, but understanding and firmly grasping what the will of the Lord is.

–Ephesians 5:15-17, Amplified Bible

0 Responses to “Summer and Time”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

