The Last Day of School

I wonder sometimes why I am so relieved on the last day of school.  I love my job (generally, anyway), and I love the kids.  So, why do I need a day off?

Nevertheless, this was THE day.  The last day.  And it started with a 2-hour delay, which seemed downright weird since there was no fog or snow or torrential rain.  Turns out the buses had been vandalized to the tune of $15,000, or so I heard.  At least one teacher had his tires slashed as his car sat in the driveway.  We had suspected a senior prank, but not this.  We had school, but there was no bus service.  Parents scrambled to find sitters and alternative transportation for their children.

I have watched some weird things this year, like the girl who walked down the hall with a baby pacifier in her mouth or bubbles being blown (the kind you blow out of a wand) in class.  This vandalism, though, it takes the cake.  If our kids don’t know the difference between a prank and a crime, it’s about time they learned.  I surely hope that none of the kids involved was one of mine, but that being said, I hope whoever was responsible for disrupting a whole community goes to jail.  That way, they’ll remember not to do such a thing again, and their punishment will be an example to others.

3 Responses to “The Last Day of School”


  1. 1 Careann May 29, 2009 at 3:59 am

    In my teaching days (I’m retired now) my specialty was primary. At that age there was an innocence that didn’t consider vandalism. It was disturbing to see how that innocence tarnished a little with each passing year. I linked it with an increasing trend to flaunt the “individual rights” that society and governments have given youth. I’m all for those rights, of course, but it seems they’re minus an accompanying sense of individual responsibility and it now goes hand in hand with a lack of respect for all forms of authority — for parents, teachers, community leaders, the police, etc. There’s a growing “I can do anything I want and you can’t touch me because I’m just a kid” attitude.

    The vandalism of your school buses is atrocious, but I suspect the culprit(s) would be wide-eyed at any suggestion the act is criminal. I hope they’re caught. I firmly believe in accountability but courts tend to go easy on young offenders. Penalties are seldom significant enough to change attitudes and in fact often result in increased bravado.

    It all makes for stress in a concerned teacher’s life. I don’t doubt you’re ready for a well-earned long, lazy summer respite! 🙂

    • 2 Becky May 29, 2009 at 10:34 am

      There’s nothing in the paper this morning, which really surprised me. Then again, as you said, the kids are juveniles.

      Thanks for the good wishes for summer. I am looking at Atlas Shrugged right now. It’s been sitting on my shelf for a while, but it’s so thick, I don’t know if I want to tackle it. A good mystery seems more in line with relaxation. 🙂

  2. 3 writeathome May 29, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Hi Becky,

    Sorry to hear about the vandalism incident. I hope you will have a great summer too. Read some good books and take some time to relax. Who knows, maybe this will be the summer when you beat your husband in a game of Scrabble! 😆


Leave a Reply

