Mii and the Wii

Do you have a Wii?  The son and daughter do.  So does my sister.  They have Wii Fit, too.  I have played some games on the daughter’s Wii, but over the weekend, she talked me into getting on the Wii Fit.  I made a Mii (a reasonable representation of myself) and we began.

Problem #1–

The Wii Fit weighs you.  I know this is stupid, but I weigh myself once a week on my own scale, and I don’t even weigh at the doctor’s office unless they get nasty about it.  I just tell them what I weighed on the previous Sunday.

The daughter bypassed the weighing part, or at least the part where the Wii showed me what I weigh according to itsscale.  So far so good.  It did tell me, though, that I was overweight according to its measurements, and it blimped out my Mii accordingly.  I thought that was rude.

Problem #2–

After the initial weighing process, the daughter signed me up for balance games.  Anyone who knows me knows I’m a little off balance.  Physically, I mean.  🙂  They knowthis.  I thought I had accepted it, but then the Wii asked if I found myself tripping over things.  Which I do.  But I don’t like having a stupid machine point it out to me.

Problem #3–

The soccer game is supposed to measure balance, too.  You are supposed to shift your weight from one foot to the other to hit the soccer balls with your head.  You don’t move your head.  Or your hips.  Things went a little fast for me and, once again, I was unbalanced.  No big surprise.  My Mii, however, fell down on her knees and beat her fists on the ground.  (When you win or do well, your Mii does a little victory dance.  I’ve only seen it done.  My Mii has yet to dance.)  Again, I thought this was rude.

Iknow I am unbalanced because, when I went to hug the niece’s boyfriend good-bye, I accidentally stepped on his foot.  Like I said, people who know me know this.  Good-naturedly, he returned the favor.  (Thanks, Keith.)  No harm, no foul.  He knows me, though.  The Wii does not.

The daughter thinks her dad and I should own a Wii, but at this point, I am not sure.  Out of all the ways of pointing out my unbalancedness, I think I’d take Keith’s subtlety over the Wii’s actually pointing it out more than once.

For now, I’ll stick with bike riding and walking the local trails in the park.  I stay on my side of the trail.  Most of the time.  🙂

1 Response to “Mii and the Wii”


  1. 1 amy June 4, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    I think the Wii Fit is more for fun than true exercise. I did tell you what a real aerobic workout my step class was, didn’t I? Well, Wii Fit Step is no comparison. Frankly, there are things I gotta do other than play video games. I think it’s a generational thing.


Leave a Reply

