Maybe I Just Read Too Much Sci-Fi

I have always like science fiction.  One of the first sci-fi books I read, I think as a freshman in high school (1969-1970), was George Orwell’s 1984.  My classmates and I read the book with horrid fascination.  1984 was only fourteen years away.  Such things could not happen to us. The government couldn’t regulate every aspect of our lives.   Could it?

Then there’s Farenheit 451, a book the son and I read together when he was in junior high.  Book-burning?  Nah! Hitler did it, but it couldn’t happen here.  Could it?

Why, then, in enforcing the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act, has our government banned the sale of children’s books published before 1985?  I know the excuse is that they want to protect children from the lead paint that may be in old book illustrations, but the measure seems extreme to me, particularly since getting rid of the old books seems to me to open the way for revisionist history like that seen in 1984.  Maybe history’s being revised right now.  Check out this video from Fox News.

I think there’s a temptation to tell the truth a different way if you get rid of old copies of books. If we start with children’s books, where will we go from there?  And what will we do with the “old” people who know the truth?  I know; I sound paranoid.  Like I said, maybe I just read too much science fiction.  I hope it’s around for a while…

3 Responses to “Maybe I Just Read Too Much Sci-Fi”


  1. 1 melissa April 2, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    thanks for posting this, i did not hear about it until i read your blog. and i have read both farenheit 451 and 1984, and i don’t think that you have read to much sci-fi. i agree with you and this needs to be put to a stop before it goes any farther. they say all it take is for good people to sit idlly by and do nothing. i don’t know what i am able to do yet, but i am praying about and i will not just sit by, for the sake of my children who have a right to know the truth and pursue those truths historically, spiritually, personally, whatever.

  2. 2 melissa April 2, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    I have also spread the word and posted blogs on myspace and facebook. I think that a lot of people are unaware, even the ones who keep up on current events better than I do.


Leave a Reply

