Rodanthe Adventures

A while ago, my friend Hannah gave me Nicholas Sparks’s book Nights in Rodanthe to read.  The book was much better than the movie, by the way.  We were trying to decide where to go for spring break, and the hubby said he’d give me my own night in Rodanthe, which I thought was a good idea.  (The hubby’s good like that.  A few years ago, during spring break, he told me he was taking me out for Cajun for lunch.  We went to New Orleans.  I figured it out when we hit Kentucky.)  We couldn’t find Rodanthe until our third trip.  Turns out Rodanthe is combined with two other towns, Waves and Salvo, and there was only a little roadside sign announcing that.

rodanthe1

The sign was well off the road as you can see here, and it was small.  There’s not much else around either, as you can see if you click here.

One thing we noticed as we drove down NC 12 was that everything was pretty much closed up.  We had a really hard time finding a place to eat, and the only motel we saw that was open did not have a view of the ocean, so we decided not to have our night in Rodanthe after all.  Sigh.

We did, however, get to walk along the beach and let me tell you, a walk on the beach when it’s 48 degrees outside and windy is a cold walk. I wanted to collect some shells since two of my students asked for them.  One of them, a boy, said he had never been out of Indiana and he wanted a seashell so he could dream  How could anyone resist that?

We left our cold weather clothes at home so, layered in a hoodie and my coat, we managed to find some pretty good shells.  It was later in the day, and they had been pretty picked over.  We didn’t stay long.  The tide was coming in, and I didn’t jump out of the way quickly enough to avoid getting my feet wet.  BRRRR!

0 Responses to “Rodanthe Adventures”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

