I’m Getting a Visitor in the Mail

I know visitors do not usually come in the mail, but that’s the way mine is coming.  He’s a little boy.  His name is Flat Stanley.

flat-stanley

Evidently, Flat Stanley has been around since 1961.  I was nine then, and I missed him.  I must have been too, you know….sophisticated for that kind of book.

For those of you who, like me, are clueless, here’s his background.  A bulletin board fell on Flat Stanley and left him only half an inch thick.  Because of his flattened state, Stanley can slip through doors, catch art thieves, and serve as a kite for his brother, Arthur.

So why is Flat Stanley coming to my house?  RJ’s first grade class is using him for a Language Arts lesson.  The idea is for RJ to write a letter and for the Grandpa and me to take some pictures of Flat Stanley in various places and then mail him back.  Then RJ can write about what Stanley did in Indiana. As a former English teacher, I think this is a wonderful way to stimulate a child’s imagination.

It stimulated mine.  What if the hubby and I could get to Alaska and Hawaii just by being mailed in an envelope?  I imagine the wait would be rather boring.  We might get hungry in the time it took us to get there.  How would we know what to wear for the trip, and who would mail us home? I think I’ll go dream up a story. 🙂

In the meantime, if you’re interested, you can check out the Official Flat Stanley Project.  So far, Stanley has been to the South Pole and the White House.  He has met Clint Eastwood and been on the Space Shuttle. I hope he doesn’t get bored in Indiana!

3 Responses to “I’m Getting a Visitor in the Mail”


  1. 1 Hannah March 14, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Becky,
    I have done the Flat Stanley thing for two different grandchildren. Flat Stanley has been photographed all over our house, our yard, on Grandpa’s mini bike, inside McCulloch Middle School,including the bear at the entrance, outside MMS at the big announcements sign, and at the Sweetser Post Office, (before he was placed in a box with a mini photo album and mailed back to the grandchild.) We loved it! I’m sure you do too.

  2. 2 Ron March 15, 2009 at 9:35 am

    I think it would be pretty cool if you posted Flat Stanley’s adventures online. RJ could reference that as part of his project.

  3. 3 writeathome March 17, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Hope Flat Stanley will have a great time in the Hoosier state. 🙂


Leave a Reply

