Slang That Is New to Me

We are doing proficiency testing this week and we had two study halls combined.  As I was helping one girl, she looked at my necklace and said, “That necklace is pimp.”

The only definitions I know of that word are these:

  1. a male in charge of prostitutes.
  2. a male talented in attracting females.

The  necklace in question is a big old fake gold heart that the hubby bought me for Valentine’s Day because it looked like something I wore when we were dating.  That and I wanted it.  The necklace and six pair of dangly earrings cost $10.

Anyway, I looked at this student and said, “Is that good?”  She and the girl next to her laughed and nodded their heads yes.  They think I am just not that into slang, and I’m not, but I thought that, in this case, it would benefit me to know a precise definition, so I looked it up.  This is the definition they were using:

very good, excellent; COOL, AWESOME. Also pimping.

Example: That is a pimp car.

I breathed a sigh of relief.  When you work in a high school, it pays to know the lingo.

1 Response to “Slang That Is New to Me”


  1. 1 writeathome March 10, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    Pimp is a new one on me too. It’s funny some of the words we have used to mean cool. “Bad” “tight” Go figure!


Leave a Reply

