A Song to Make You Think

Jars of Clay has debuted a song,”Two Hands,” for a new album that comes out on April 21rst.  It has had me thinking all week.   Here are the lyrics:

I’ve been living out of sanity
I’ve been splitting hairs and blurring lines
I am a house that is divided
In my heart and in my mind

I use one hand to pull closer
The other to push you away
If I had two hands doing the same thing
Lifted high, lifted high

I have a broken disposition
I’m a liar who thirsts for the truth
And while I ache for faith to hold me
I need to feel the scars and see the proof

And if we just keep digging we can reach the foundation
Of our souls
And if we just keep cutting all the chains from our hearts
We’ll lose control

And it feels like giving in
It feels like starting over
It feels like waking up, and you know it’s coming
It feels like a brand new day
Open your eyes

According to this site, Jars of Clay’s lead vocalist, Dan Haseltine, has this to say about the song’s theme:

That song touches a very simple longing in our hearts for unity under one roof…One side of us wants to serve Christ and love others, while the other side is concerned only with looking out for ourselves.  By reconciling the sides of our heart–both good and bad–to bring the full weight of who we are in Christ, we can use our hands to serve and love others well in a way that honors him.

This is one of the things the Bible has to say about reconciliation in Colossians 1:19-22:

For God was pleased to have all his fullness dwell in him [Jesus Christ], and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through his blood, shed on the cross. Once you were alienated from God and were enemies in your minds because of your evil behavior. But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation—…


Reconciliation.  The name of my blog used to be “I thought I would have it together by now,” and maybe that would be the best name for it even now.  I remember thinking that at thirty I would have all the answers, and although I laugh about that young woman now, she was pretty serious as she searched, often in her own power.

I still do that, but I like to think that I realize what I am doing and STOP  more quickly than I used to, stop and look toward my Savior, the Author and Finisher of my faith (Hebrews 12:2).  Only He can satisfy my yearning, my desire, as Jars of Clay says, to have “two hands, doing the same thing.”

Lifting high.


5 Responses to “A Song to Make You Think”


  1. 1 Sally March 8, 2009 at 9:24 am

    It makes me think of “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus.” Thanks for sharing. Happy Spiritual Sunday.

  2. 2 Charlotte March 8, 2009 at 11:08 am

    What a wonderful post for Spiritual Sundays. It reminds me of what Paul said in Romans 7. What he wants to do he doesn’t do and what he doesn’t want to do he finds himself doing. There is a battle going on for our hearts and minds. He ends by asking who can rescue him and answers by saying Christ Jesus. Yes, Jesus is the only way.
    Thank you for sharing with us today.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

  3. 3 Clif March 8, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Wonderful! Great words! I am sure the music will be great also and that it will make a way for people to listen to the great truth being taught. Your words are clear, easy to understand and needed. Thanks.

  4. 4 Julie March 8, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    I love Jars of Clay…and can’t wait to hear the new songs! What a heartfelt post! Have a restful Sunday…Julie

  5. 5 Melly March 9, 2009 at 12:20 am

    I’m new to Spiritual Sundays and to blogging and I have been so blessed by the blogs I have been reading and I have really enjoyed yours, I love that God gives us just what we need to hear.

    Thank you for blessing me with your blog 🙂

    It’s lovely to meet you 🙂

    Melly:)


Leave a Reply

