The Recession Hits the Country Club

The daughter works at a country club in her area (this is one of her three jobs), and she told me last night that she feels fortunate to  still have a job there.  Salaried people are being let go or laid off.  She got off work early because there was no set-up for another event.  People aren’t scheduling their normal $50,000+  parties.  The valets are only working one day a week.

I don’t have money, but I do, surprisingly, have a little sympathy for these people.  I attended a school conference many years ago where the sociologist who spoke said that people in the upper classes do not know how to fend for themselves in tough economic times.  She said they would downsize but hold on to their maids or nannies because they did not know how to do things for themselves.  She said the same sort of thing, sadly, would be true of a middle-class person who was transitioning to being poor.  They would not know how to leave in the middle of the night if they could not pay their rent or to get food, clothes or heat when the money ran out.  I always thought she was right.  We think of those things as basics to our lives, but they aren’t basic for a lot of people.

While I think money can make things easier and, admittedly, there are times when I would like more, I am thankful that my parents taught me how to do things for myself.  Although the daughter works fewer hours at all three of her jobs, I have to agree with her.  I am extremely thankful that she still has them all and is able to pay her bills.

0 Responses to “The Recession Hits the Country Club”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

