Who Are You around the Most?

One of the teachers with whom I work came to Indiana from New York some thirty-six years ago.   The kids asked him to talk like a New Yorker the other day, and to their cheers and laughter, he came up with something about having spilled the Coney dog in the back of the car.  Then they wanted to know why he didn’t talk that way any more.

“Well,” he said, “I’ve been in Indiana  a long time, and you tend to talk like the people you are around the most.”

God separates His people out in various ways, and one of the ways is by how we speak.  Although this teacher no longer talks like a New Yorker, neither does he belittle students or gossip.  He does not allow them to gossip.  When the topic of church comes up, he talks openly about the church he attends.  The fact that this teacher is a Christian shines forth in all he does.

There is something that attracts people to Christ, and the Bible says that we are, while we behold His face, being transformed into His image (2 Corinthians 3:18).  Our former accents and speech patterns fall away, and we mirror those of Christ, the One with whom we, as Christians, strive to spend the most time.

As we start a new week, Dear Lord, help us to remember to put You first in our lives.  Let our lives be such a mirror of Your love that others will turn to you as well.  In Your precious Name, Amen.

To read more Spiritual Sunday blogs, go here.

11 Responses to “Who Are You around the Most?”


  1. 1 Sally February 15, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Good analogy! Let’s hang around God so that our talk is more appropriate. Thanks for sharing. Happy Spiritual Sunday.

  2. 2 Charlotte February 15, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    This is why it is so important who we “hang around” with. We tend to become like them, even in speech. It’s hard to know exactly how to strike a balance here. We don’t want to isolate ourselves from the outside world, but we don’t want to spend so much time with them that we become like them.
    Some accents stay with us a long time. I only lived in Oklahoma about 4 years of my 72. People still ask me what part of the south I’m from. I grew up in California, except for the brief time in Oklahoma and have lived in California and Arizona all of my adult life, so why do I still talk like an Okie?
    Have a great day. Thank you for sharing with us.
    Charlotte

  3. 3 Clif February 15, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    This is so good. Yes, we do become like those we are around. We need to keep checking on our influence on others as well as theirs on us. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. 4 Betty February 15, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    Thanks for your post today. It is always a good reminder to put God first in our lives, and I always try to do that.

  5. 5 sue February 15, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    This is great, my desire is to be more like Christ everyday.
    What a wonderful person to work with.
    Blessings,
    Sue

  6. 6 Kathi-Laveneder, Lace and Thyme February 15, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    Becky, how true, the people we surround ourselves with make such a difference how we act and think. It’s not always possible to surround ourselves with other believers but we should always shine.

    Your co-worker sounds like an amazing teacher 🙂

    Have a wonderful Sunday,
    Blessings,
    Kathi 🙂

  7. 7 Ginger February 15, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    I try my best to hang out with people that help my walk with Jesus! What a wonderful post today.
    Thank-you,
    Ginger

  8. 8 karen February 16, 2009 at 1:31 am

    A BIG AMEN-thanks for the great post.
    Bless YOU!

  9. 9 Cherdecor February 16, 2009 at 8:16 am

    Good Morning, Becky,
    Thank you for stopping by my blog. I had to laugh to myself when I read your post today. I have been a teacher in the Christian schools for 40 years. The last four years of that time I taught in a Mennonite school. They really dress down. I began doing the same thing. You know, wearing gym shoes with skirts. Ha! Ha! I knew it was happening, but I couldn’t help myself. =) So, people around us do influence us. Thanks for this post.

  10. 10 writeathome February 16, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    That’s certainly something I want to strive for, to reflect Jesus to others through my speech and actions. Good post!

  11. 11 nannykim February 19, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    I love those last two paragraphs–our focus and everything about us should be Christ—I want to be that sweet fragrance of Christ to others—-I want to be conformed, not to the world, not to a church, but to Christ. So I like those 2 paragraphs especially.

    I also love how I feel when my hubby and I listen at night to God’s word being read—–we have a devotional time together where we listen to the word together and you know, it really does feel like I am being washed–like a shower for my heart, mind, and soul.

    I am thankful for all the kinds of fellowhip we have available in this day and time! Bloggers, etc….[pretty wonderful]


Leave a Reply

