The Case of the Missing I-Pod

My nephews, ages 11 and 13, got new I-Pods for Christmas.  Now I wouldn’t know what to do with an I-Pod if it bit me, but I know the school kids (and my daughter) can’t seem to live without theirs.  I remember my sister telling me, right after Christmas, that the boys were having a great time downloading music.

Then…the older 13-year-old was at a wrestling meet and, instead of giving his I-Pod to his mom to keep because, you know, he’s all grown up and all, he zipped it in his backpack, which was in the hall and went in to wrestle.

It wasn’t there when he got back.

Understandably, his heart is broken.

Now it seems there was this girl in the hallway, who reported that a lost I-Pod had been turned in to the people who run the concession stand.

Except it hadn’t.  They didn’t know anything about it.  Hmmm….sounds suspicious, doesn’t it?

This all happened a couple of weeks ago.  My nephew was upset.  My sister was upset.  Since I work in a school, she asked me what I thought might happen, and I told her that school officials are really pretty good at getting to the bottom of things like this if you give them time.  They have things on their minds other than missing I-Pods, but they get there, in my experience.

I guess they are getting there.  The principal talked to my nephew yesterday and my sister today.  The young lady who was in the hall is the prime suspect.  It appears that she has lied before and been caught.  She’s in a particularly bad situation parent-wise and is living with grandparents.  Who knows what is going on in her head?

The reason I bring all this up is because it needs covered with prayer.  My nephew rides the bus with this girl, and I am sure it is hard for him to treat her as though nothing has happened when he suspects her of stealing from him, so he needs prayer.  More than that, though, so does this girl.  She’s only in junior high.  If she is guilty, she needs prayer that she would feel remorse, confess what she has done, and learn from her mistake.  Even if she isn’t, she needs prayer because she has, for whatever reason, ended up with her grandparents, and I believe her grandparents need prayer because  it must be hard to take your grandchild in and parent her.  They love her enough to have taken her in, but I imagine it’s been a big upheaval in their lives, one that seems to be more and more common.

You would think that the biggest lesson here would for my nephew, that he would learn to lock up his electronics.  He has a cell phone, and my sister says that since his I-Pod disappeared, he does ask her to hold it if he can’t lock it up.  I don’t know if that’s the biggest lesson, though.  I think the biggest lesson might be for him to ride the bus with this girl and be kind to her, no matter what the outcome is.

2 Responses to “The Case of the Missing I-Pod”


  1. 1 writeathome January 30, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    This reminded me of a situation we went through recently involving identity theft with my husband’s credit card. Due to the nature of the things that were ordered and after talking with the police, we feel pretty certain it is someone in our neighborhood. Apparently, it is common for people to get credit card info. from a neighbor, order things with the card, and have it sent to the person’s address. Then, when the mail is delivered, they must try and intercept it before you can get to it. Fortunately, our mail lady brought the first package right to our door, which led us to discover that someone had been using our credit card. Although we feel pretty certain we know who it is, we cannot prove anything. Everything that was ordered was recovered and sent back, and the bank is reversing all the charges. I think our neighbor knew that we were on to her and decided to abort her plan. Anyhow, I decided I’m still going to be nice to her, will still make cookies for her family at Christmas time, etc. I have prayed that if it is this person that she would feel remorse over what she did. I want to handle it the way Jesus would. I know He would not try to get revenge. I will pray that your nephew can handle his situation in the right way. It is sad though, that some people are led to steal, and it’s worse when they get away with it, because it usually leads to them doing it again.

    • 2 Becky January 31, 2009 at 10:10 am

      I am sorry you had to go through that, Carol, and glad that the financial end of things has been resolved. I know your neighbor is better off for your praying. Thanks for your prayers on behalf of the nephew.


Leave a Reply

