A Prayer for the New Year

–from the LUTHERAN BOOK OF PRAYER

It is of Thy mercies, Lord, that I am not consumed, because Thy compassions fail not.  They are new every morning; great is Thy faithfulness.  Abide with me, O God, throughout the coming year.   Be my Guide in all my perplexities. my Strength in weakness, my ever-ready Help in all my troubles.  Forgive me all my sins.  Look down from heaven, I beseech Thee, God of Hosts; behold and visit with Thy grace Thy holy Christian Church, which Thou hast chosen for Thine own. Preserve to it Thy Word and Sacraments, that Thy vine may send out its vows from sea to sea and its branches to the uttermost parts of the earth.  Look graciously upon our native land and all the nations of the world, and bless them with peace.  Grant to all that are in authority wisdom and courage so to rule that we may lead a quiet and peaceful life in all godliness and honesty.  To Thine almighty and gracious providence I commit our nation, our church, our families, myself.  Abide with me with Thy grace and mercy, and preserve my whole spirit and body blameless to the coming of my Lord Jesus Christ.

Amen.

0 Responses to “A Prayer for the New Year”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

