Why I Like Christmas

christmas-spirit-award

Ronda at More for Your Life has tagged me with a Christmas Spirit Award, to be given to someone that you know loves Christmas and has Christmas spirit.  The rules are that you link back to the blog that gave you the award and then list 1-45 reasons why you love Christmas.  I’m not going to tag anyone because those I would tag either have MySpace blogs and I couldn’t see their responses since I refuse to get one, or they don’t have blogs at all.  Beth, Jill and Melissa–if you see this and post on MySpace, let me know your reasons, OK?  Here goes with mine:

1. Christmas always makes me wonder.  About Mary.  About Joseph.  Ab0ut their parents.  About how much they understood.

2.  I don’t anticipate my own birthdays much anymore, but I do love Advent and anticipating the celebration of  my Lord’s.  We have soup suppers and fellowship at our church before our Advent services.  We have been imagining (see#1) Nazareth, Bethlehem, and the Judean hills.

3.  I love the songs we sing at this time of year.  My favorites are “Adeste Fideles” (my dad was a Latin teacher),” Breath of Heaven,”” Lux Venit” and Christ the Messiah” sung by Michael W. Smith, “ O Come O Come Emmanuel” and “Brightest and Best of the Sons of the Morning.

4.  Christmas is a time for memories.  I still have the ornaments my children made me, and now I have some made by the grandsons as well.  I don’t care about having a designer tree.  Mine is beautiful because of the memories it holds.

5.  Christmas is the only time of year that I hear from some people.  While time and distance may have separated us, I appreciate the effort it takes for them to reach out and catch me up on their lives.

6.   I have always been struck by how friendly the people in Indiana are, and they are even friendlier at Christmas.  It’s nice to see people smiling, even as they hurry through the mall.  It’s nice to see the ways they reach out.  Our mall is donating $5 for gifts for needy children for every letter to Santa they receive.  The letters are fast filling up the mall walls and, in these hard times, the donations will light up the lives of some children.

7.  My community puts on a display of over 2 million Christmas lights, and the birth of Jesus Christ figures prominently in them.  I think it’s fitting that the birth of the Light of the World is honored with lights.

8.  Christmas is a reason for the people that I love to gather.  The shape of our gatherings is changing, but people still come if they can!

Even though I haven’t tagged  you, I hope you’ll leave a comment and share some of the reasons you love Christmas!

3 Responses to “Why I Like Christmas”


  1. 1 writeathome December 24, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Hi Becky,

    Just dropping by to wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas and God’s blessings this New Year. Thanks for being my blogging buddy.

    Love,

    Carol

  2. 2 Tena December 24, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Have an awesome Christmas and a blessed New Year, Becky!

  3. 3 Sally December 25, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Wishing you a Merry Christmas.


Leave a Reply

