Dreaming of Christmas Baking

I haven’t done any Christmas baking yet, but I’m thinking about it.  The problem is that there are only the two of us here and only so many places to give things away.  To keep  them at home is, ummm…unhealthy.  I like to think I have self control, but it comes and goes.

Here’s what I’d like to make:  this White Christmas Fudge from The Voice of Melody, this Microwave Fudge Sampler, which includes Pistachio-Craisin Fudge, and the White Christmas Pie recipe from the book of the same name by Wanda Brunstetter.

While I was searching, courtesy of CheapHealthyGood, I found a site that has the best cookies from 1941-2008.  I thought I’d amuse myself and look up recipes from the birth years in our family.  1951 yielded Sugar Shuttles.  1955 was Queen’s Biscuits. 1978 was Anise Cookies, which I remember my mom making, and 1979 was Linzer Bars.  Only the Anise Cookies are Christmas-y.

Next week, the daughter and I will be making some of my mom’s recipes, Candy Cane Cookies and some Christmas trees using my mom’s Mirro cookie press.  She’ll make some fudge and her very special brownies, and she and her cousin will make some Buckeyes.  Good thing they’re giving most of that away!

I don’t know why Christmas makes me want things I don’t crave at any other time of year except, of course, that I don’t get them any other time of year.

And I don’t know where to start.

5 Responses to “Dreaming of Christmas Baking”


  1. 1 amy December 10, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Holiday Baking. Well, Christmas is sneaking up on us; but I have to make 2 boxes woth of cupcakes for my Daughter’s birthday for the class,etc. There is so much to do, so little time.

    I know what you mean about the time, sis. Remember when we were kids and days just dragged on?

  2. 2 melissa December 10, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    my mom and i make anise seed cookies every year! i love them, it just wouldnt feel like christmas without them. i can give you some if you would like. everyone i know except my mom, brother and i hate them. so there’s plenty.


    I would love some, Melissa. Thanks. Hope to see you at Christmas. I will e-mail you about the tentative plans, OK?

  3. 3 Carol December 11, 2008 at 3:30 am

    Hi Becky,

    I’ve been baking up a storm lately and trying real hard to practice “baking without partaking.” Tonight was the first night I really binged, but at least I went for a walk with my son first. I hope that helps. Tonight, I had 7 homeschoolers along with their moms at my house to bake cookies. It was a lot of fun. This year, my husband asked me if I could make up his candy trays for his business clients, and he would give the money to the church. I made peanut brittle, chocolate covered peanut brittle clusters and Russian teacakes, and I thank the Lord that it’s done. It was fun, but it was a lot of work too. Anyhow, I hope you enjoy baking with your daughter this coming week.

    Blessings,
    Carol

    I bet the group baking was a lot of fun, and I am sure your husband appreciated your making his candy for work. It seems like everyone likes peanut brittle and Russian teacakes!

  4. 4 Tena December 19, 2008 at 2:59 am

    Oh! I LOVE to bake for the holidays! Actually I LOVE to bake anytime of the year. How do you not eat so much? Give half away. 🙂 You can make many people happy doing that. 🙂
    Happy baking…and eating. 🙂

    I have been making things to take to school and church and you’re right–it makes other people happy and protects me from…me. We’ll have to recipe-swap sometime. What’s your favorite Christmas cookie?

  5. 5 iluv2prshim December 20, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Hi Becky, I tagged you. Go to my site to see. 🙂


Leave a Reply

