I’m Not Sure the Hard Times Warrant These

A few weeks ago, I posted about Indiana’s “In God We Trust” license plates being ruled constitutional, and I was proud of my state.  Really.  Now I’m not so proud.

You see, Indiana’s Planned Parenthood has decided to offer gift certificates since the times are so hard.  These certificates can be used for health care that Planned Parenthood offers.  They can also be used for abortions.  I am not going to go off the deep end about Planned Parenthood and abortion…although I could. I just think the whole idea of gift certificates for health care is sort of off the wall.  What if you only get one?   They come in $25 increments.  What will $25 get you?  Isn’t the whole idea that people use gift certificates? 

I have, on occasion, helped pay for medical care for some family members, but I would never have given them gift certificates to do so.  I think those things are sort of personal.  Now I don’t know what’s next.  Do you give gift certificates to the local hospital in case somebody needs to go to the emergency room?

I think gift certificates are very useful things, although I know some people think they’re in poor taste generally. I just think some things are too personal for a gift certificate.  What do you think?

2 Responses to “I’m Not Sure the Hard Times Warrant These”


  1. 1 writeathome December 2, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Gift certificates to Planned Parenthood don’t sit well with me either. Of course, anything that has to do with Planned Parenthood doesn’t sit well with me. Gift certificates, in my mind are for special occasions like birthdays and anniversaries and are something with which you can give yourself a treat.

    That’s the way I think of them, too, Carol.

  2. 2 Beth December 2, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    I would have to agree. Gift certificates to Planned Parenthood are not a good thing. I did a focus group for a market research firm about them and they asked for my opinion of them and what picture in a magazine would portray. It was interesting to hear everyone interact. It is hard to believe now they do gift certificates for things like that.

    God be with us all.


Leave a Reply

