Memorizing Scripture

I have hidden your word in my heart
that I might not sin against you.

Psalm 119:11

I got a lecture on memorizing Scripture from RJ, the six-year-old grandson this weekend, which was sort of not-coincidental since that’s something that has been on my heart lately.  He had just told me about having faith, you see.  I don’t remember how we got started, but he told me the story about Jesus calming the seas and how, when the disciples woke Jesus up, He said, “Hey, can’t you have a little faith in Me?”  Then RJ proceeded to tell me that he wanted to have more than a little faith, so he was learning a “spalm.”  He didn’t remember which one, but he knew it was important to learn it.

The conversation turned to other things then.  You know how six-year-olds are.

I was about RJ’s age when I learned my first “spalm” –the 23rd.  I am sure the ladies that urged me to memorize at Bible school had no idea I would remember them fondly years later, but this “spalm” has reminded me of the attributes of my God for 47 years now.  I think it makes a difference.  I KNOW the Holy Spirit has called it to my mind when I needed it, along with other Scriptures I have learned over the years.

I didn’t tell RJ, but the Grandpa and I have started a Scripture memory program, too.  We let it lapse for a while, but I found this program at Challies.com just at the time that I needed it.  Fancy that.  Coincidence?  I think not.

Anyway, the Grandpa and I are learning a “spalm” too–the 8th.  I have to tell you that the hubby has it down pat and, although the words are familiar to me, I am struggling a bit.  I won’t tell you that I’ve slept since then.  How about that my disks are full and I need to defrag?  Whatever the reason, though, it helps to have a partner, and the Grandpa and I are on it.  Like RJ, we want to have more than a little faith.

For other Spiritual Sunday posts, go here.

4 Responses to “Memorizing Scripture”


  1. 1 Sally November 30, 2008 at 9:44 am

    Grandchildren are a blessing, aren’t they?

  2. 2 Charlotte November 30, 2008 at 11:20 am

    “A little child shall lead them.” So many times this is the case. Jesus said we need to become as little children. Thanks for sharing this with us.
    Blessings and Happy Spiritual Sunday.
    Charlotte

  3. 3 Ginger November 30, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    I am going to go visit that page! I need all the help I can get!!
    Thank-you I would of never known about this.
    Thank-you for being here with us today.
    God Bless,
    Ginger

  4. 4 Clif November 30, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    This is such a good post. I love the way you told the “story.” The first time I memorized Scripture was when I attended my first Vacation Bible School. I still remember the verses now after many, many years. And of course, I have memorized many more since then. Three cheers for you and your husband. Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

