Book Review: The Moon Shines Down

the-moon-shines-down

Yesterday, I received the book The Moon Shines Down by Margaret Wise Brown to review.  Beck is best known for her book Goodnight Moon, which is basically a bedtime or nap time story that is beloved by children and parents alike.  The Moon Shines Down, which which is based on a New England Sampler prayer, “God bless the moon and God bless me,” was found unfinished, tucked away in a trunk in a barn, long after Beck’s death.   Laura Minchew, a children’s book publisher and Beck fan, decided to complete it.

I liked the idea of the story.  A little koala bear tours the world, commenting on the fact that God sees His children wherever they are. I loved Laura Bleck’s illustrations, which are enough to catch the eye of younger and older readers alike.  The approximate rhyme that is used in some of the verses bogs down the rhythm, though.  The book is recommended for readers aged 3-8, and while I can see the younger readers being entranced by the illustrations if the book were read to them, I think older readers would lose interest because of the inconsistent nature of the rhyme.  It lacks the soothing rhythm that is needed for early readers and for what obviously is intended as a bedtime book.

If I were to purchase this book for my grandsons, who are 4 and 6, I would keep it at my house and read it to them before bed.  At home, I think it would just sit on their shelves.

1 Response to “Book Review: The Moon Shines Down”


  1. 1 Sally November 22, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    I like the honesty of your review.

    Thanks, Sally. That means a lot coming from you.


Leave a Reply

