Gratitude Journal Day 16

Today I am grateful for:

1) the younger women in my family, who have taken over the Thanksgiving planning.  I live three hours away from where we gather, so it’s nice to have somebody take care of the details.

2) my father’s Biblical insight and his willingness to answer my questions.  I e-mailed him the other day with a question because I had heard someone in church say that the coal with which God cleansed Isaiah’s lips seared his lips together, which is not the mental picture I had at all.  I know it’s a silly thing to obsess about, but the image bothered me.  Dad just looked it up in his commentary, reinforced what I thought–that Isaiah’s lips were cleansed, not seared–and then told me to speak up if things like that seemed wrong to me.  He’s been telling me that for a long time…

3) the area in which I live, in which, although its over 2,000,000 Christmas lights will not be lit until this Saturday, this particular display has been lit, all by itself, for the past two weeks.

shepherd kneeling at the cross

1 Response to “Gratitude Journal Day 16”


  1. 1 Sally November 20, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Like you, I no longer cook the Thanksgiving meal; my DiL does it. I agree with your father; it does mean to purify.


Leave a Reply

