Gratitude Journal Day 15

Today  I am grateful that:

1) Indiana’s “In God We Trust” license plates, for which we do not currently pay a fee, has been declared constitutional despite a challenge by the ACLU.

Indiana In God We Trust Plate

2) both of my children are employed and taking care of themselves.  The daughter wants to go back to school and make a change, but for right now she has a job with benefits, something it seems is becoming increasingly rare.  The son has a wonderful job, although how a guy with a music education degree ended up in IT still baffles me a little…, and

3) that my marriage vows include the words “in sickness and in health.”  It’s been quite a year for me medically, and the hubby has been more than patient with it all.

7 Responses to “Gratitude Journal Day 15”


  1. 1 Middle Man November 19, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Is Indiana specific about whose God we put our trust in? Does it apply equally to Muslims and other non-Christian religions?

  2. 2 Sally November 19, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Hooray about the license plates! I know what you mean about those marriage vows. Johnny’s had the short end of that stick too.

  3. 3 Becky November 19, 2008 at 10:31 am

    No, it is not specific. The reasoning that I heard was used was that since “In God We Trust” is on our money, it could be on the license plates, too. If you want to know why it is on our money, you can look here:
    http://www.ustreas.gov/education/fact-sheets/currency/in-god-we-trust.shtml
    I think everybody pretty much knows that the God being trusted here is the God of Christianity.

  4. 4 timbob November 20, 2008 at 12:24 am

    Good evening. I just stumbled across your blog through a series of wanderings. I’m curious as to what part of Indiana you are in. We live Constantine MI which is about 25 miles northeast of Elkhart. Every other blogger that I’m in contact with is at least four or five states away.

    Have a blessed evening in Jesus.

    timbob

  5. 5 timbob November 20, 2008 at 12:26 am

    Your header is awesome and Psalm 46:10 is a favorite.

  6. 6 Carol November 20, 2008 at 2:39 am

    That’s cool about the license plates. I just saw that Shirley Buxton had this posted on her blog too.

  7. 7 Becky November 20, 2008 at 6:59 am

    Timbob, I live in central Indiana, about 2 1/2 hours south of Elkhart. I grew up in NW Ohio, though, right across the border from MI. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Carol, I saw Shirley’s post, too. I thought it was nice of her to give Indiana some west coast publicity! 🙂


Leave a Reply

