Gratitude Journal Day 11

Today I am thankful:

1) that our church has a men’s ministry that provides the hubby with support both spiritually and personally.

2) that there is no shortage of food on the shelves when I shop for groceries.  I may not like the prices, but the food is there.

3) that there is no shortage of food on my shelves.  The hubby and I eat far differently than we used to, and I think that retirement has gotten us back in the habit of shopping frugally like we did when we were young.  Not only in food, but in most areas of my life, I wonder if I know what it is to do without a need.  I was raised by a mom who, as a child of the Depression, believed in the WWII saying, “Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without.”    During WWII, things like sugar, coffee, gas, shoes, meat, fish, flour, and canned goods were rationed.  I wonder what my mom and dad went without.  They never really talked about it.  I found a lesson plan that asked kids to list ten things they would do without to help our country.  I don’t think most kids could list ten, and I don’t know that I can, either.  Makes you think–a LOT–about the difference between wants and needs.

3 Responses to “Gratitude Journal Day 11”


  1. 1 Sally November 15, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I too am grateful for the abundance of food we have.

  2. 2 Ron November 15, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    I like that quote. I think that will be my new fiscal mission statement.

  3. 3 Becky November 15, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    I hope it will serve you well.


Leave a Reply

