Faith and Focus

When I was writing my review about Billy Graham, I thought a lot about Graham’s focus.  I think he has got the message that his God is great to the public loud and clear throughout his career.  A man who was recruited by Graham to sing for his ministry is George Beverly Shea.  From what I could find out, the man turned 99 this year and is still traveling and singing for the Lord.

That’s not what I remember him for, though.  What I remember is his beautiful voice resounding through our house as my mom played his records, 33 1/3 for those who know what those were, on our stereo.  Those songs ministered to my soul before I ever came to saving faith.  I know they ministered to my mom, and ours are not the only hearts he reached.  Billy Graham, on his  website, BGEA, says this about Shea’s music:

A man came very reluctantly to [an evangelistic] meeting and was very vocal in his scorn of all that was taking place. When Bev Shea got up to sing, he made yet another wisecrack. But halfway through Bev’s song, ‘He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands,’ the man became serious. As Bev quietly sang the words, ‘He’s got the tiny little baby in His hands,’ the man bowed his head. At the invitation, he came forward to open his heart to Christ, later telling his counselor that his child was at home seriously ill and that it was Bev’s song that had touched his heart.

It is certain that George Beverly Shea has, through his music, pointed people to the Lord just as Billy Graham did through his preaching.  I don’t know God has in store for me in this, the second half of my life, but I pray that my life can speak for God just as theirs has.  I don’t know what it sounds like when the angels sing praises to God in heaven, but when I meet my mother there, I am wondering if any of them will sound like George Beverly Shea.  In my heart, when I think of heaven, his voice is the one I hear singing “How Great Thou Art.

For more Spiritual Sundays, go here.




14 Responses to “Faith and Focus”


  1. 1 Sally November 15, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Although my mom was not saved, she loved George Beverly Shea’s singing and once came to hear him with me at a Graham meeting in Miami.

  2. 2 Becky November 15, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    He has reached out to a lot of people, hasn’t he? How did you come to faith since your mom wasn’t saved?

  3. 3 Charlotte November 15, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    I thought George Beverly Shea was a great singer. I wonder if he still sings. Ninety nine years old. Wow. It will be a wonder if he can sing at all. Thanks for a wonderful post.
    Charlotte

  4. 4 Clif November 15, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    This is an excellent and encouraging post. I too loved to hear George Beverly Shea sing. I have one of those old records of his. I also enjoyed your review of Billy. I just received the book in the mail yesterday and will be reviewing it soon.( From reading Becky’s comment above, I think she misunderstood Sally’s statement about her mother and thought it was your mother) Thanks again for your good post.

  5. 5 karen November 15, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    What a voice- He too has been a faithful servant of Our Most High God.
    Thanks for sharing, your post allowed me to worship and praise
    My Lord.
    Blessings-

  6. 6 Willnette November 15, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    Very nice thanks for sharing

  7. 7 Jeannie November 16, 2008 at 1:03 am

    I have loved George Beverly Shea’s singing since I was a girl of 9 and heard him sing at at a Crusade telecast at my Grandmother’s home in 1957. I had a “record player” as we called them then and I began to purchase his records. I have many of his 33 1/3 albums, quite a few of his cassettes, and all of his CDs. I was blessed to see him in person in June of 1973. I constantly play a cassette, record, or CD or his when doing housework and God speaks to me through them.

  8. 8 Ruthie November 16, 2008 at 1:07 am

    His singing has always been an inspiration to me. What a gift – and he has used it to gorify God. I heard that he could have had a very lucrative ministry singing in the secular world, but he felt called to sing for the Lord.

  9. 9 Cherdecor November 16, 2008 at 9:33 am

    Even though the music has changed in most churches, none of it is a good as this one. I guess the kind of songs he sang was all about God.

  10. 10 Ginger November 16, 2008 at 11:00 am

    What a beautiful voice indeed! What a wonderful memory of your mom playing this music. This is a beautiful song, as I’m playing it my husband is singing along with him in the other room.
    God Bless,
    Ginger

  11. 11 Kathi-Laveneder, Lace and Thyme November 16, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    George Beverly Shea will turn 100 next February, isn’t that wonderful! My husband had the wonderful opportunity to work with 4 great men in his career. Billy Graham, Cliff Barrows, Johnny Lenning and George Beverly Shea, he continues to keep these men as roll models in his life, just under Jesus of course :). What a wonderful voice George has and a beautiful post you’ve written, thank you!

    Have a wonderful Sonday,
    Kathi 🙂

  12. 12 nannykim November 16, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Yes, he spoke to me through his music when I was a teen. What amazes me is how God uses the gifts of His people at all ages of life….sometimes we see large impacts, but I have realized that not all of us are used as far and wide as Billy or George. So many are called to be faithful in what seems to be a small sphere, but all are important to God….I think of Ruth in the Bible. She seemed like such a small person who demonstrated faithfulness. Little did she know she would be in the line of the Messiah. Many times what we do seems small, but our faithfulness is not small in God’s eyes, is it?

  13. 13 Katherine November 16, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    He has a marvelous voice! Thanks for posting this.

    Katherine

  14. 14 Lorie November 17, 2008 at 3:32 am

    Aww Bless his heart!!!!


Leave a Reply

