FIREPROOF: A Five Hanky Movie

OK.  I do know that most young people don’t even know what handkerchiefs are anymore.  Tissues, then.  My point is, FIREPROOF was GOOD!!

This is the way the conversation went the first time I asked my husband to go…

“What’s it about?”

“A marriage in trouble.”

“Our marriage isn’t in trouble.  Why do we need to go?”

So we didn’t.  Then.

This weekend, because the hubby will be in Ohio taking care of the grandsons, we committed to a date night.  I asked about FIREPROOF again.  This time, the answer was, “Why do you want to go?”

“Well,” I said, ” the election was sort of a let-down.  There haven’t been any good movies for a while, and we like movies.  We used to go to them a lot before you retired, and…”

“We haven’t been going because there haven’t been many good movies,” the hubby responded.

Which is true.

“Still,” I said, “we should support Christian movies.  FIREPROOF did pretty well with box office figures all on its own.  And you’ve liked the other Christian movies we went to see, like TIMECHANGER and FACING THE GIANTS and AMAZING GRACE.  Besides, it’s on the Five Dollar Club…”

He was convinced, and off we went.

Wow.

The movie is about Caleb Holt and his wife, Catherine.  They have been married seven years, and they’re having some problems.  Finally, Catherine says she wants out.

When Caleb tells his dad what’s going on, his father asks him to hold off on the divorce and commit to a “Love Dare” for 40 days.  Caleb doesn’t think it will do any good, but he agrees.

I don’t want to give away any more of the story, except to say that there’s something in this movie for every adult, I think, married or no.  All marriages go through hard times, and you only get through them by grace.  You should think about how your actions affect others.  You should think about what you do for your spouse and whether you do it because they deserve it or because you love them.  You should think about the fact that Jesus loves us whether we deserve it or not.

If you go see the movie, please come back and tell me what you thought.  There wasn’t a dry eye in the house when we went, the hubby included.  What moved you the most?

2 Responses to “FIREPROOF: A Five Hanky Movie”


  1. 1 Lorie November 9, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    HI Becky!!
    I want to go so bad, we have only one place on the island showing it, and it is always at a time when I have to work, but I will watch it. yep I am so determined lol. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this movie.

    Hugz Lorie

  2. 2 Sally November 10, 2008 at 10:57 am

    I don’t know why I haven’t found time to go see it, but you’ve convinced me.


Leave a Reply

