Spreading the Word…Literally

I am by myself this week, something that really hasn’t happened since the hubby retired.  See, he is a Gideon.  So is my dad.  Dad’s area has undertaken a 3-day Bible blitz, trying to cover the city where I grew up, Toledo, Ohio, with 30,000 Bibles, and the hubby traveled there to help.  They are going to hotels and motels, medical facilities and college campuses.  Yesterday was the first day, and the hubby said people were really receptive.

When he comes home, the hubby will be part of a distribution here that will number more than 5.000 Bibles.  God knows who needs these Bibles.  Please pray for those people’s hearts to be receptive, and for  the Gideons as they distribute.  They hold fast to what God says about His Word:

…so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Isaiah 55:11

7 Responses to “Spreading the Word…Literally”


  1. 1 Sally October 7, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I appreciate the Gideons and the work that they do. When I worked in a high school library, the Gideons donated five Bibles, and the students checked them out!

    Of course, everyone knows that in each motel room, a Bible is found in the nightstand drawer, thanks to the Gideons.

    Our church has had the Gideons speak, and what an interesting session that was.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. 2 Becky October 7, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Thanks for your kind words, Sally. I will be sure to pass them on to the Gideons in my life!

  3. 3 Debra October 7, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Becky,

    I saw your comment on Tracy’s post and wanted to say that I just went through the testing on my liver with unexplained masses…they turned out to be birthmarks and cysts. Scary, nonetheless. I will put your name in my prayer journal and be praying for you. Blessings to you, dear sister.

  4. 4 Tracy October 7, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Becky,
    I have such respect for the Gideons and their mission. You must be so proud of your husband and your Dad. May God bless them.

    Glad to know the Tony Snow piece was an encouragement to you. Be assured just a moment ago I lifted a prayer on your behalf. Please keep me posted.

    Blessings,
    Tracy

  5. 5 writeathome October 12, 2008 at 1:14 am

    I’m always encouraged when I go to a hotel and find a Bible placed there by the Gideon’s. You just never know whose life might be changed through coming in contact with the Word of God.

  6. 6 Cathy September 27, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    That is so wonderful your husband and father distribute Bibles. I always appreciate them in medical facilities. I even found one at the court house where I had Jury Duty.


Leave a Reply

