Word of the Day: Cheeky

Cheeky (adj):  insolently bold

I like this year’s freshman.  Most of them read at or above grade level, something our particular school system has not seen in a while.  I enjoy their responses and their energy.  That being said, though, our school has some problems, something with which all the adults are learning to deal.

It’s cheek.

These are some of the things that I have dealt with in the past twenty-four hours, and a lot of others are dealing with the same:

1.  I had a boy tell me I had a big booty.  It’s not that I was insulted because he said it was big; it actually is one of the parts of my anatomy that isn’t.  It’s that he really didn’t see that what he said to me was inappropriate.

2.  I had a freshman tell me to quit “ragging” on him because I was not the teacher.  (I had asked him to sit in, not on, his desk).  I took a deep breath and told him that, as an adult, I outranked him, so he needed to do what I said.

3.  Cell phones are not to be out in our school.  When I told a boy to put his away, his response was, “What do you want me to do, talk or text?  It’s gonna be one or the other.”

4.  Two teachers told me they were glad I was in their rooms as a witness.  Should a witness be necessary in a school?  Ever?

I realize that the behavior of this year’s kids is not new to our times, but somehow that doesn’t make it easy to take.  Here are some quotes about kids from waaaaay back:

1. The children love luxury. They have bad manners, contempt for authority, show disrespect for elders, and love to chatter in place of exercise.  –Socrates, 5th century BCE

2.  Our youth have an insatiable desire for wealth; and atrocious customs regarding dressing and their hair.–Plato, 4th century BCE

Tattoos and piercings, anyone?

And finally:

3.  The world is passing through troublesome times. The young people of today think of nothing but themselves. They talk as if they know everything.–Matthew Paris, 13th century

So…how do we deal?

We read a story today in the freshman class called “Thank You, Ma’am” by Langston Hughes.  In it, a boy tries to steal a working woman’s purse.  She catches him and, instead of turning him in to the police, takes him home and feeds him.  Her reason?  She herself has “done things, too, which [she] would not tell [him]—neither tell God, if he didn’t already know.”

Haven’t we all?

So the word of the day for tomorrow is…charity.  That’s how we’ll deal.

charity(n)–benevolent goodwill toward or love of humanity

Things should get better in a year or two.

Shouldn’t they?

3 Responses to “Word of the Day: Cheeky”


  1. 1 Sally September 24, 2008 at 9:44 am

    When I taught, I noticed that every few years we had a “bad” class of freshmen. They usually kept that “bad” attitude all through their high school years. Sounds like this is the year.

  2. 2 Sally September 24, 2008 at 9:46 am

    It’s incidents like these that make adults want to run from the classroom. It’s correctable IF your administration back you.

  3. 3 Becky September 24, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    I know what you mean about the attitude lasting. I am hoping that’s not the case here. I can’t retire for seven more years!


Leave a Reply

