It’s Weird to Look at Anticipation from the Other Side

When I was a little girl, one of the trips that we took frequently was to visit my mother’s older sister, Jeanette, who lived in West Viriginia.  From our part of Ohio we took the Turnpike and, as I remember those pre-superhighway days, we got off at New Stanton, PA, and made our way to her house.

We always left on Fridays after my dad had worked a full day, so we got there really late.  My mom and her sister were country girls, and I can still remember the porch light being on for our arrival, moths flitting about it.  I can still hear the slamming of the screen door as Aunt Jeanette came out to greet us.  Her kitchen was in the rear of the house, and I remember wandering through the dark to get there.  There was always a freshly-baked something for us kids, and Aunt Jeanette always put on a fresh pot of coffee for the adults.  Much of the time, her kitchen had that steamy feel from late-night canning, and I would sit and drowse in that warm, familiar atmosphere until my mom urged me gently to bed, upstairs to the bunkbeds that always awaited me.

Tonight, the hubby and I await the arrival of our son and his family.  We made peach jam this evening, from peaches that somebody gave us.  We canned a lot in Ohio; I still love hearing the lids pop as the jars seal.  Our son had to work late tonight, so he and the family won’t be here until about midnight.  The porch light is on to await them.  The kitchen has that canning feel, the jam jars waiting on the counter for the hours before they can be moved.

I know that my grandsons anticipate their arrival here much as I looked forward to mine at Aunt Jeanette’s.  The daughter-in-law said that while she was packing, RJ wanted to know where they were going.  She told him Grandma and Grandpa’s, and he asked which one.  (He has three sets.)  When she told him he was coming to Indiana, he replied,” Oh, good.  That grandma and grandpa play with me.”

I remember thinking that about Aunt Jeanette, too.  She had a special knack for letting kids be kids. I stayed with her for a couple of weeks the summer I was ten, and it was one of the best summers of my life.

I can only imagine how much visitors meant to Aunt Jeanette.  She was widowed during WWII.  Her children were grown,and although they lived in the same town, I am sure she must have missed the hustle and bustle that her own growing up in a family of seven kids entailed.  I was a kid, you know, and I doubt she ever knew how much those visits meant to me, but now, as I await the late-night arrival of my own family, I have a lot more understanding of what our visits must have meant to her.

3 Responses to “It’s Weird to Look at Anticipation from the Other Side”


  1. 1 Sally September 20, 2008 at 8:34 am

    What a beautiful trip down memory lane; thank you for taking me along. Isn’t it nice to know how your grandchildren are feeling about you?

  2. 2 heartwhispers September 22, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Oh, I loved reading “anticipation” from the other side! It brought to mind so many memories of my own. But then it made me miss my grandkids… they no longer live near me. But I did get to see all of them at various times this past summer, except for my GREAT Granddaughter. She turned two in August. Again, thanks for the memories.

  3. 3 Becky September 23, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Those grandkids are so precious, aren’t they? I’m glad you got to see yours this summer. I saw the pictures on your blog. They are adorable! How blessed you are to have a great-granddaughter, too. I hope you get to see her soon.


Leave a Reply

