Reality Check

Many years ago, the hubby and I neglected to weigh ourselves for, I don’t know, six months?  It was a baaaaaad idea.  When our clothes got tighter, we decided to get on the scale and check out the bad news.  Palms sweaty, chests tight, we weighed.  And were appalled.  So–we decided that the scale was broken and promptly bought a new one. Which said the same thing. 😦

To save face, we gave the old scale away, but we never forgot the lesson involved.  We laugh about it now, but we pay attention.  I weigh once a week.  The hubby does it once a month.

What gives you a reality check when it comes to taking care of yourself?

7 Responses to “Reality Check”


  1. 1 Sally September 4, 2008 at 6:22 am

    I never weigh unless I go to the doctor’s. I know that’s a bad idea, but it’s the truth.

  2. 2 Debbie September 4, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    I read your comment on Smiling Sal’s blog, about the BTT Question/peer presure, and I just wanted to say…Quentin Collins was hunkier than Barnabas! LOL
    and what hold me accountable? Well, my clothes are REALLY tight right now, so I am afraid to get on the scale. I think I’ll start walking again.

  3. 3 Becky September 4, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Quentin was worth a look too, at least back then. As for the scale…people have their own methods. If you don’t get scale shock at the doctor, that’s a good thing. I just hate surprises…

  4. 4 Brenda September 5, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Your story sounds too familiar! I’ve done similiar scale replacement! Right now I know I need to weigh myself … but I’m still choosing to live in denial … although leaving this comment is kind of blowing that for me! 😉

  5. 5 Becky September 5, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Denial does work when it comes to weight, doesn’t it? At least until your jeans don’t fit. 😉 Thanks for stopping by, Brenda.

  6. 6 writeathome September 5, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    I weigh myself everyday now and keep it written down in a journal. It’s nice to be able to wear a few things I haven’t worn in a while. I have changed my eating habits a lot, but I still get that nasty urge to snack in between meals every now and then. If I can just lose 10 more pounds, then I’ll just have maintaining to work on. I sure do miss those days when I could eat whatever I want and not gain a pound! LOL

  7. 7 Becky September 6, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    I am not ambitious enough to write my weight down, but our scale has little colored markers so I can tell if my weight goes up or down. Congratulations on your weight loss. Ten pounds to go doesn’t sound bad at all.


Leave a Reply

