Down Time?

Indiana laws have changed regarding paraprofessionals and now, in addition to having to pass a qualifying test, we have to take training during the school year.  It’s not that I am opposed to training, but we are supposed to fit it in during our “down time”–twelve sessions by the end of the year.

Down time?  I don’t think any of us have that.  If I do have a period in the resource room, I am copying for teachers, making sure they know what assignments are due when, and checking student grades to go on the everlasting homework search.  Our school is using bookshare.org and scanning the books via Kurzweil, and I am supposed to be studying up to be the resident expert.  That’s also in my “down time.”

There are a bunch of things to do in my supposed down time, but the training will probably not be one of them.  I will do it at home, paid or not, even though it annoys me a little that things have to be done that way.

I’m in this job for the kids, not the pay, and they pretty much always need attention.

3 Responses to “Down Time?”


  1. 1 Debbie September 4, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Thanks for commenting on my blog… I like the newberry authors best too. And yes, I’ve read Janet Evanovich. I like Stephanie Plumb. Now, there is someone who can eat anything she wants!

  2. 2 Debbie September 4, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    And…since I’m new to your blog…am I right in understanding that you work in a school library?
    I used to. Loved it.

  3. 3 Becky September 4, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    I’m a former English teacher turned special ed inclusion aid, Debbie. I always thought I’d like to work in the library. It’s on my list of things to do. And I hope the Janet Evanovich make you laugh as much as they do me.:)


Leave a Reply

