No More Slacking

The daughter came back from Ireland on Thursday and, as befits her station as a Registered Kinesiotherapist,  she put me to work.  With my arm, I mean.

I am scheduled to go back to the doctor this Thursday and have been able to go slingless for about two and a half weeks here at home, but my range of motion had not improved as much as I wanted.  Do such things ever improve as fast as we want them to?

Anyway…evidently, muscle tissue scars after an injury such as mine.  I really didn’t know that.  The daughter spent a few days getting me to do exercises which would stretch and break the scar tissue, and she thinks that we have pretty much succeeded.  Let me tell you…those stretches were hard.  It’s been almost thirty years since I learned Lamaze, but I sure used that breathing while we were working!  The reward, though, is an increased range of motion, something I will be pleased to wow the doctor with on Thursday.

I still might have to have therapy, at least for strengthening.  I know that.  But I was grateful to have the daughter overseeing my stretching.  I doubt any other therapist would have told me to take her hand and squeeze.  She pushed me through the pain, and I had almost immediate results with an increased range of motion.

I don’t think I shut down, exactly, after I broke my arm, but there were a lot of things I couldn’t do.  (Did I mention that I actually missed mowing the lawn?)  Now that I can move more normally, I am ready to take some of my life back.  That’s a pretty good way to celebrate Labor Day!

2 Responses to “No More Slacking”


  1. 1 Sally September 1, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    So, you’re working on Labor Day!

    I know all about scar tissue and therapy. It’s worth it, though.

  2. 2 Becky September 2, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Thanks for your encouragement, Sally. It will be nice to get back to normal!


Leave a Reply

