Full of Blarney

The daughter has been in Ireland a week now.  One of the last things on her itinerary is to go to Blarney Castle and kiss the Blarney Stone.  I was looking at some pictures of this on line, and I was pleased to see that there is someone there to hold you since you have to bend over backwards to kiss the stone.  I don’t see all the fuss about getting the gift of gab.  In our family, we call it babbling, not gab, and if the daughter’s gift is enhanced, well…let the listener beware!

I found the legends about the Blarney Stone’s origins to be interesting, and I am hoping the daughter will bring home some more info on this.  Here are just a few of them from the Blarney Castle site:

Some say it [the stone] was Jacob’s Pillow, brought to Ireland by the prophet Jeremiah….Others say it may be a stone brought back to Ireland from the Crusades – the ‘Stone of Ezel’ [ I Samuel 20, especially verse 19] behind which David hid on Jonathan’s advice when he fled from his enemy, Saul. A few claim it was the stone that gushed water when struck by Moses.

I have to admit that, as a Christian,  those stories catch my fancy.  Whatever the truth is, though,  I have noticed during the daughter’s absence that there are a LOT of people who would like to be in her place and kissing it!  We pick her up on Thursday.  I can’t wait to hear her stories!

If you’d like to read some fun stories about Blarney  Castle and its stone, click here.

2 Responses to “Full of Blarney”


  1. 1 Sally August 26, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    My mom went to Ireland and kissed the Blarney stone. She told about the contorted position she had to get in to do it.

  2. 2 Becky August 26, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I remember smiling when I read about your mom in your post about your heritage. It sounds like she was a neat lady.


Leave a Reply

