Ireland and the Daughter’s Big Adventure

The daughter e-mailed to tell us that she is safely in Ireland.  She is staying in a hostel.  She said the showers were an experience because you have to press a button to get your water.  There’s no temperature control, and she said the water doesn’t run for very long.  There are a lot of things we take for granted in this country, aren’t there?  The hostel has free computers, and that’s how she contacted us.  I am glad she didn’t have to go out to look for an Internet cafe or wait to go to the library.

Today she took a tour of Dublin.  She said she saw a castle, complete with its own ghost, and the Guinness factory.  She doesn’t drink, which might be an oddity since she bartends, and she said the Guinness didn’t taste very good.  She did learn how it was made.  She plans to take the tour again so that she can see the Book of Kells at Trinity College, the historic jail, and the Jameson Whiskey Factory.

I know.  I whined when she decided to go to Ireland alone.  I prayed a lot about it, though, and we had a conversation right before she left that made me certain she needs this trip.  As I have reported before, she works three jobs.  I told her I thought this trip would be the biggest adventure of her life, and she replied that her biggest adventure had been to get divorced.

Obviously, she needs a better adventure than that!

5 Responses to “Ireland and the Daughter’s Big Adventure”


  1. 1 Sally August 20, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    No matter what the age, our child is still our baby. It’s hard to watch them fly.

  2. 2 Becky August 21, 2008 at 5:29 am

    It sure is! I am assuming that it will get easier, though, and I am proud of her. Several of the younger teachers at school said they would never try such a trip on their own.

  3. 3 Ron August 21, 2008 at 6:01 am

    I hope she brings me some Jameson back.

  4. 4 Becky August 21, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    She can access her e-mail. I suppose you could hint.

  5. 5 Vicki August 21, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Ah, so glad to know your baby is safely there in Ireland. Would love to visit that country. Thanks for your recent comment at my blog! God bless you.

    hugs,
    Vicki


Leave a Reply

